Norfolk Cricket League round-up: Overstrand’s unbeaten run comes to an end at the hands of new boys Caister

Promoted Caister head the Norfolk Cricket League league by a single point from defending champions S

Promoted Caister head the Norfolk Cricket League league by a single point from defending champions Saxlingham, after blowing away Overstrands 30 match unbeaten home run stretching over three years. - Credit: Archant

The weekend rain tried its best to ruin the Saturday programme in the Norfolk Cricket League, sponsored by Ashburnham Solicitors, but 19 matches took advantage of the reduced overs options and only six succumbed to the elements.

Promoted Caister head the league by a single point from defending champions Saxlingham, after blowing away Overstrand's 30 match unbeaten home run stretching over three years. Shaun Goodby smashed 117 as they piled up 253-8, David Yarham taking 5-54, but the hosts were out for 85.

Saxlingham chased down Southwold's 173-9 with five overs to spare, Oli Browne grabbing 52, and Ross Bilham 36 and 3-51. Stefan Clifford had earlier hit 60 for Southwold.

Kirkley and Belton also remain unbeaten, giving the recovering Sajid Ali something to smile about as they beat Felthorpe despite Dave Richardson's 75, Chris Cropley scoring 55 and Kevin Comer taking 4-42.

Over in the west, Castle Rising amassed 255-3, Ollie Denton with 109 and Matt Taylor with 60 enjoying themselves. Narborough fell well short, Matthew Coe top scoring with 73. St Andrews got off the mark as Syed Hussain smashed 77 in a 20-over game as they totalled 170. Imran Mohammed then took 4-16 as Reepham & Salle were a long way adrift.

You may also want to watch:

Mellis head Two West despite the rain, as they beat Gooderstone, while Beeston remain just behind as they edged out East Harling by four runs, Howard Bailey (81) top scoring. Sandringham are also unbeaten, while Sam Molyneux's 66 got Castle Acre off the mark. Saham Toney and Great Ellingham was wiped out after four overs.

Over in Two East, Aylsham St Giles top the table as Steve Richards blew away the beleaguered Gillingham batsmen, taking 6-10. Graham Taylor scored 55no and took 3-22 as Wensum beat landlords Drayton, despite Michael Mario-Ghae's 5-35. Halvergate also stay unbeaten as they beat Rollesby, Luke Hannant top scoring with 75, while Ben Youngs took 4-33 for Rollesby. Kirkley & Belton A were too strong for Eaton as Induchoodan Nair hit 63no in their win, while Steven Hak hit 52no for Great Yarmouth as they thrashed Happisburgh by nine wickets, for whom Wayne Catchpole hit 57.

Most Read

Snettisham head up Three West in the Norfolk Cricket League after Lloyd Osbourne (5-3) and Danny Suckling (4-7) demolished North Elmham.

Castle Rising, Beetley and Thornham all remain unbeaten while Swaffham A recorded their first win.

Meanwhile in Three Central, Hingham and Malayalees are neck and neck, while over in the East, Sprowston B, Bungay and Martham are all unbeaten.

Level Four sees Great Yarmouth A, newcomers Broadland and Old Catton A unbeaten in East, while Old Catton B head up North.

Garboldisham C, Bystanders A and Hingham A are the pacesetters in South, while out West, Denver A, Boughton and Bircham A lead the way.

But spare a thought for Winterton A, whose match was abandoned, having sat out the previous weekend and were washed out on the opening weekend. Other notable performances from Levels 3 & 4 are below:

Mark Osbourne (Dersingham) 78, Gary Hinchcliffe (Beetley) 75no and 4-14, Curtis Santer (Swaffham A) 66no, Matt Friend (Swaffham A) 4-18, Jacob Seed (Swanton Morley) 78, Dickie Sayers (Thornham) 53, Jacob Merrill (Cringleford Lodge) 50, Lee Bartlett (Ketteringham Hall) 72, Paul Sprong (Ketteringham Hall) 4-14, Al Watts (Hethersett & TV B) 4-14, Dean Parfitt (Hethersett & Tas Valley B) 56no, Ashley Hicks (Horsford C) 5-9, Rob Clarke (Horsford C) 51no, T.Sethanatham (Martham A) 71, Neil Gromett (Denver A) 52, James Webb (Boughton) 4-22, Oli Short (Boughton) 62no, Rob Crisp (Narborough A) 58, David Robinson (Aldborough) 62, Adrian Pope (Sprowston C) 5-17, Gordon Simpson (Aylsham St Giles A) 4-12, Paul Notley (Old Catton A) 50no, Tom Atkinson (Sheringham A) 150, Kotes Kalhin (Sheringham A) 59no, David Woods (Southwold A) 65, James Rowswell (Hales & Loddon A), 55, Martin Phillips (Hethersett & Tas Valley C) 84no, Neville Kemp (Garboldisham C) 60no, Finlay Penrose (Garboldisham C) 54, Richard Cheal (Ketteringham Hall A) 116no, Ben Gibbins (Ketteringham Hall A) 63.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter