Norfolk Alliance: Jordan Everett so close to third ton for Ashmanhaugh

The Norfolk Lions squad which faced Essex during the 2015 Norfolk Festival of Cricket. Back row, fro

The Norfolk Lions squad which faced Essex during the 2015 Norfolk Festival of Cricket. Back row, from left, coach Chris Brown, 12th man Callum Metcalf, Brett Stolworthy, Luke Findlay, Jack Timmins, Jordan Everett, Matthew Taylor, scorer Andrew Borrett and manager Kevin Denmark. Front, from left, Kieran Peters, Jason Reynolds, captain Lewis Denmark, Ryan Findlay, David Turner, Robbie Bridgstock. Picture: Tim Ferley - Credit: Tim Ferley

Jordan Everett fell just four runs short of a notable landmark as Ashmanaugh and Barton Wanderers came out on top in a must-win game against Mattishall.

The Wanderers opener went into the match with successive centuries behind him, a superb effort considering he is playing for a team cast adrift at the bottom of Division One.

And he looked on course for a hat-trick on Saturday, only to be dismissed for 96 as the strugglers set a testing target of 258 for a Mattishall outfit on the fringes of the relegation battle.

With Cameron Marrable taking 5-43 it was no contest, with Wanderers winning by 108 runs to keep their hopes of avoiding a second successive relegation alive.

They remain in deep trouble however, with a resounding 89-win win for fellow strugglers Norwich A against fading title challengers Dereham hardly helping their cause.

At the other end of the table top two Horsford A and Lowestoft both won handsomely to boost their title chances.

An excellent batting effort, with Oscar Binny, Matthew Wilkinson and Will Bryan all making half centuries, helped Horsford all the way up to 288-6 against Thetford and that was far too many for their visitors who were all out for 147.

Most Read

It was even more one-sided at Topcroft, with the hosts skittled out for 98 chasing an unlikely 314.

Acle are also in the hunt after winning by 56 runs against Stow, despite only making 154 (Tom Wilson 63, Josh Rowe 4-16).

In the top flight Brooke won a high-scoring game against a plucky Swardeston A side to move 24 points clear at the top.

A superb 176-run partnership between Richard Porter (115) and Mike Jones (82) enabled the hosts to post a daunting 313-7 in their 50 overs and although they won comfortably enough Swardeston made them work hard for it by reaching 277, with Daniel Poulton making 55.

Garboldisham moved up to second, level on points with Sprowston, after comfortably beating their Norwich visitors.

Sprowston have been struggling of late but it was still a surprise to see them bowled out for just 106 in the division's match of the day, with Garboldisham then cruising home by nine wickets. Dan Constable had an excellent afternoon, following up his 4-21 with an unbeaten 59.

Defending champions Fakenham maintained their climb up the table when they won by four wickets at a Cromer side who have dropped like a stone after a bright start.

Danger-man Chad Bowes went for a duck as Fakenham began their chase of a modest 158, but an unbeaten 40 from youngster Harry Blackiston saw them home.

These are worrying times for Cromer, although they actually pulled out of the bottom two after picking up more bonus points than Diss, who lost their derby game against Old Buckenham by three wickets despite a fine 91 from David Tooke. Rob Thurley (5-29) and James Deacon (58 not out) were the Bucks' star men.


• Division One: AB Wanderers - Thomas Harris 53, Hendro Puchert (4-28); Horsford A - Caleb Futter 4-25; Mattishall - Aaron Garner 4-41; Stow - Steven Moulton 4-29.

• Division Two: Bradenham - Marcus Evans 76no; Fakenham A - Harrison FutterSaham Toney - Mark Hunter 52no;

• Division Three: Old Buckenham A - Mark Dunnett 52, Ali Beales 4-43; Swaffham - Mark Dye 63.

• Division Four: Garboldisham A - Jack Stevenson; Great Melton A - Jack Pearse 66, Tim Hales 63, Tom Moye 4-43; Hethersett and TV A - Richard Ellis 65, Matt Steward 65; Sheringham - David King 117 no, Wes Neave 51; North Runcton A - Tim Coote 77;

• Division Five: Bircham - Will Pillinger 77, Shaun Fisher 55; Bradenham A - Olly Mowles 58, Old Catton - Paul Daynes 79, Greg Crisp 4-24; Swardeston/CEYMS - Sapumal Herathge 104, K Cooper 110no.

• Division Six: Dereham A - Tom Head 5-25; Horsford B - William Minns 53no; Topcroft A - Harry Taylor 103; James Prewer-Andrews 66

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter