New clubs to bolster Norwich City Tennis League this season

Norwich City Tennis League 2014 trophy winners with Chairman Bob King.

Norwich City Tennis League 2014 trophy winners with Chairman Bob King. - Credit: Submitted

Three new clubs are expected to join the Norwich City Tennis League for the 2015 season.

The league held its annual general meeting at Easton College recently, with secretary Adrian Gunton announcing the further expansion of the league, which could be boosted further by existing participants increasing their sides as well.

Representatives of the 83 teams from the 12 men's and ladies divisions were in attendance at the AGM, where Gunton reported on a very successful 2014 season which ended with eight different clubs winning the league trophies from almost 500 league games played.

The various divisional winners for the 2014 season were also awarded their trophies.

Men's: Division One – Taverham A; Division Two – E Anglia A; Division Three – Stanmore B; Division Four – Blofield B; Division Five – Cringleford B; Division Six – Easton B; Division Seven – E Anglia B.

Ladies: Division One – Brooke A; Division Two – Cringleford A; Division Three – Brooke B; Division Four – Wymondham B; Division Five – E Anglia D.

The league, which was established with five clubs in 1953, plays matches between May and August. For further details about the league, go to

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter