National cyclists give Norfolk course the thumbs up

Will Bamber of VC Norwich at Rookery Farm

Will Bamber of VC Norwich at Rookery Farm - Credit: Archant

Norfolk was in the forefront of change when governing body Cycling Time Trials placed their National 10 mile championships on a course of quiet country roads, as opposed to fast big ones – the principle being that championships are about riders competing on level terms rather than fastest-ever times.

King's Lynn CC's Daniel Bloy passes Rookery Farm

King's Lynn CC's Daniel Bloy passes Rookery Farm - Credit: Archant

So the 2013 10 mile championships came to Norfolk and a rectangular course based at Hingham, and taking in Carbrooke, Rocklands and Great Ellingham –to widespread approval.

CC Breckland's Declan Davis

CC Breckland's Declan Davis - Credit: Archant

Men's Champion Michael Hutchinson – who has experienced all kinds of course called it a 'great course for a National Championship.'

It was by no means an easy win. Hutchinson (In-Gear Quickvit) was unofficially timed as three seconds down on Matthew Bottrill (Drag2zero) at the Carbrooke cross-roads (three miles), but eventually won by a seven second margin in 19:20.

Conditions were fine and dry with an increasing northerly wind, which propelled competitors from Carbrooke to Rocklands and was only a dead headwind over the final one and a half miles after Great Ellingham.

Organiser Don Saunders also set a new standard for the display of results with a simple but outstandingly clear and readable result board. Top rider from an East District club was Jason Boutell (VeloVelocity), 25th in 21:01 while the fastest from a Norfolk club was Daniel Bloy (King's Lynn) 44th in 21:48.

Women's winner was Julia Shaw (22:19) with Sally Withey (VC Norwich) top Norfolk club rider, 38th in 26:10. Top Junior was Chris Lawless (Kuoto) with Norfolk club members Declan Davis (CC Breckland) and Lewis Stevens (Strada Sport) tying on 23:43.

Most Read

Next day a VC Norwich Women's road race team of Beth Coley, Louise Marsden and Jen Smart contested the East London Velo Women's road race near Saffron Walden. A break of seven decided the top placings, but in the sprint for eighth Coley found a gap and seized seventh, (15th overall). Marsden, having already done a personal best 27:33 in the Championship 10, was unlucky to be delayed by a crash ahead of her.

VC Norwich's James Browne got in the break of the men's race, only to puncture. It was a big break – 15 or so riders – and 'everybody waited' said Wroxham rider Steve Hurrell. They were caught and in a long, strung out sprint Lloyd Chapman (Glendene) won with Mark Westrup (Strada) best local finisher in 21st.

The CC Breckland Longmarkers 10 on the A11 between Attleborough and Snetterton produced a rare tie in the team result with Norwich Amateurs David Moore (22:04), Rob London (22:34) and Richard Reade (22:50) sharing the spoils with Stowmarket & District CC.

Daniel Bloy won the Wolsey 25 in the Waveney Valley with 54:34, Beccles rider Jim Burgess (Anglia Velo) took the Stowmarket & District 10 in 20:44 while Martin Hunter was the week's senior winner at Lotus.

National Championship 10, Hingham: Winners and leading Norfolk club riders:

Women: 1 Julia Shaw (drag2zero) 22:19, 38 Sally Withey (VC Norwich) 26:10, 48 Louise Marsden (VCN) 27:33, 49 Beth Coley (VCN) 27:36, 50 Jenny Anderson (Gt Yarmouth CC) 27:41, 54 Erica Howe (VCN) 29:09.

Men: 1 Michael Hutchinson (In Gear) 19:20, 44 Daniel Bloy (King's Lynn CC) 21:48, 50 Jason Turner (Norwich ABC) 21:56, 64 Harley Matthews (Gt Yarmouth CC) 22:28, 68 Will Bamber (VCN) 22:32.

Juniors: 1 Chris Lawless (Kuota) 20:49, 27= Declan Davis (CC Breckland), Lewis Stevens (Strada Sport) both 23:43, 42 Harvey Hall (CCB) 25:40.