Mountain biker Anita Buxton wins third round of Whyte Winter Series in Thetford Forest

Five hundred mountain bikers contested the third round of the Whyte Winter Series and found the Brandon Park course in Thetford Forest frozen and just emerging from mist.

Probably the least technical course of the series, the surface softened as it thawed.

In particular the pain of the final climb to the arena was etched on many riders' minds. However, some just flew after leaving the entire junior field over 11 minutes behind.

Notable local winners were Anita Buxton (Thetford MTB), three minutes clear in the women's two-hour, and Paul Ashby (Fat Birds), veteran four-hour winner and seven minutes faster than all the Under-40s. Newmarket rider Jason Boutell topped the two hour 18-39 list. Team CCN's Glenn Stanford missed a pedal at the gun, just got Boutell in sight, but Boutell had the power to pull away, leaving the Forncett man to finish second in the 135-rider field.

In contrast, Team CCN's Darren Evans started well, but felt he did not drink early enough and suffered the effects on the last lap, eventually finishing fifth, with team-mate Shaun Aldous seventh and Elliott Lawrence eleventh.

• Time trialists and club riders converged on Carbrooke Village Hall for the East District CA prize presentation, with winners from, for instance, King's Lynn and Ipswich making the return trip by bike. Among those winning top awards were Nino Piccoli (Pedal Revolution) who was 10-mile champion and topped the short distance rankings; Declan Davis (CC Breckland), Junior Best All-Rounder; Daniel Collins (King's Lynn CC) top Espoir; Laura Gambling (CC Breckland) 10- and 100-mile ladies champion; and Becky Taylor (Wisbech Wheelers) Ladies' BAR.

• Norfolk CTC members gathered at St Faiths to honour their award winners, including Paul Moore of Diss for Service to the Club, Cyclist of the Year Tony Clarke and clubrun attendance trophy winners Rita Murrell and Bryan Walker.

Most Read

• Bungay cyclist Mark Elmy launched his Bungay Cycling School with a record on rollers – static cycling. Riding a special bike with a 100-tooth chainring he clocked up 181 'laps' of the clock – each representing 500 metres, in one hour. This beat Dean Clarke's previous figure of 174 laps.

• Members of the new Norfolk-based Strada-Sport road team made good use of fitness gained on their recent weekend team ride to Skegness and back when they raced at Hog Hill, the Redbridge Cycle Centre on the Essex outskirts of London. Peter Hargreaves was seventh in the race for E/1/2/3 (higher category) riders, with Mark Westrup ninth and Nick Esser 16th.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter