Lost rudders among Horning casualties

Tuesday of Horning Week began overcast and humid with very light SE winds, but during the day the clouds cleared and the wind increased to provide pleasant sailing conditions.

The day began eventfully with James Galloway taking an early swim in the Allcomers B Race, falling backwards off his Laser having become stuck on a lee shore. However, he still managed to gain third place, with Matt Ellis and Jane Williams ahead of him.

Racing was extremely close in this fleet with just seconds separating first and second on more than one occasion, both Ellis and Williams taking wins during the day.

In the Allcomers C Fleet, Joe Brown capsized after rounding the final buoy, and crossed the line while the boat was still horizontal, maintaining his third place position. On an extremely busy river, two lost rudders were among the casualties.

In the morning Yeoman race, yesterday's three frontrunners Geoff Stubbs, George Whitefoot and Toby Fields broke away from the field. Eventually it was Stubbs sailing Tara who took line honours from Whitefoot, who had led for most of the race. With daughter Anita helming, there were two more wins for Tara.

The Lunchtime cruiser race for the Avis Tankards was won by Robert Harris helming Rushmere while the afternoon race was again well attended, working on a basis of average laps. First overall was Pip Roney sailing Vixen. Despite being last to start, Robert Hancock went on to win the evening race for the Mira Tankards, a scratch race for boats under 10pc handicap. The First Trophy was won by D Pritchard sailing Rebel Queen, followed by Lucy Drew in her Topper.

nHorning Week began on Monday in light increasing winds and unbroken sunshine, with entries significantly up on previous years.

Most Read

The largest fleet, Allcomers C, attracted almost 20 entries with Natalie Stiff, sailing her Topper, claiming four wins across the day. Eight-year-old William Pank, sailing his Optimist, was unfazed by the larger craft on the river with a second, third and fourth place.

In the 14-strong YBOD fleet, races were dominated by Chris Bunn and Niki Tansley sailing Fox. In the Reedlings Robert Hancock took two wins while Peter Brown had three wins in different Rebels and Matt Ellis four wins in the Allcomers B Fleet. In the Yeomans Geoff Stubbs, George Whitefoot and Toby Fields all took a win each.

The Officers' Trophy was won by Hugh Tusting sailing YBOD Brimstonewhile the Junior Delves Challenge Cup went to Anna Bunn, helming Rebel H and crewed by Martina Jurgiewicz.