League rivals set for cup showdown

NORFOLK MINOR CUP FINAL: Gorleston Rangers Youth and Shrublands Juniors meet at Trafford Park, Wroxham this evening in the Norfolk Minor Cup Final (7pm).

The teams will be familiar with one another, given that both play their football in the Norfolk and Suffolk Youth League.

Shrublands will be looking to secure the first part of a County Cup and League double, as they sit top in the league at present. Gorleston, meanwhile, have lost just twice this season and victory would put them on course for a potential treble of County Cup, League and League Cup. They currently sit third in the league standings, trailing Shrublands by eight points, but with two games in hand.

Gorleston Rangers manager Steve Deag believes the final is a tough one to call.

'Shrublands are a quality team and we will have to play to our strengths in order to lift this trophy,' he said. 'To be victorious in this competition would be a great highlight for me. It would be an extremely proud moment for all concerned with Gorleston Rangers U14A and the club as a whole.'

Andrew Nichols, manager of Shrublands, echoes that sentiment.

'It will be a very proud night for me and the club, win or lose. Taking this Shrublands team to its first ever County Cup final is a very big honour. The boys have made us very proud all season and the final is just reward for their hard work', he said. 'Gorleston Rangers will be very strong opposition. They have good players all over the pitch and they are a very good passing team. Most of the boys know each other really well and there are players on both sides who have played for both clubs. Hopefully it will be a great derby game.'

Most Read

• Gorleston Rangers Youth: Lucas Avie, Callum Batley, Cameron Brooks, Ollie Brown, Lawson Crago-Moore, Dan Deag, Ben George, Colby Haylett, Clark Haylett, Taylor Jackson, Jed Knights, Charlie McLean, Callum Mordecai, Declan Round, Jay Turner.

• Shrublands Juniors from: Brodie Adams, Ollie Alexander, Jamie Bruce, Mauro Cardoso, Connor Deeks, Noel Hubbard, Jordan Huggins, Ryan Labrum, Daniel Lonergan, Ben Mann, Joe McCabe, Brad McQueen, Sam Noakes, Henri Potter, Coby Stanford.