Laura Gambling wins Newmarket time trial

Laura Gambling won the Veterans' Time Trial Association's 25 mile National Championship on a windy afternoon on the Newmarket bypass.

The 55 year-old CC Breckland member who lives in Norwich finished in 1:02:54 which beat the standard time for her age by 11 minutes 28 seconds. Next best was Helen Reynolds (Hemel Hempstead CC) whose actual time of 1:02:04 was slightly quicker, but only beat the tougher standard for her 46 years by 10:30.

Under this age-related system best Norfolk man (in 39th place) was Chris Nudds (CCB) whose 59:07 beat his standard for age 63 by 11:32.

In the same event West Norfolk riders Peter Hopkins (67) and Colin Bunnett (69) also set a national age record with their 1:04:12 on tandem trike.

Another Norfolk rider was top lady at the Plomesgate 25 in Rendlesham Forest – Isla Rush (North Norfolk Wheelers), 42 years Gambling's junior at 13 years old. Rush recorded 1:23:45 on a tough, blustery day on a sporting circuit course near the Suffolk Coast. Overall winner in 57:55 was fixed wheel man Mark Arnold (Team Pedal Revolution).

A heavy thunderstorm hit the East District 25 mile circuit championship on Wednesday evening, and visibility was so much reduced that the organisers called a halt.

The Boudicca Sportive based at World Horse Welfare at Snetterton took riders through on a 100 mile route to the North Norfolk Coast at Thornham and back. The Lotus League returned to a handicap format for last week's race. Liam Gentry (Strada Sport) nevertheless came though from the scratch group and in the last 600 metres slipped ahead with Graham Collins (Ipswich BC) and took the win. Tom Fitzpatrick, now with the Strada Sport, took third in a sprint in which VC Norwich rider Glyn Thomas took his first series points.

Most Read

In the Neil Gardner road race for higher category riders Mike Auger (Strada Sport) took seventh place. In contrast the Paul Simon Homes race for third and fourth categories largely stayed together until a big finishing sprint in which Strada Sport's Steve Hurrell was ninth.

In the Ely '10' David McGaw (Cambridge CC, 21.17) was the winner and Daniel Bloy (King's Lynn CC) was second in 21:31 12 seconds ahead of Velo Velocity's Jason Boutell.