King’s Lynn Stars look to roar against Leicester Lions in ‘A47 derby’

Kenneth Bjerre will be missing for Lynn this evening. Picture: Ian Burt

Kenneth Bjerre will be missing for Lynn this evening. Picture: Ian Burt - Credit: IAN BURT

King's Lynn make the short trip to Leicester this evening full of confidence and looking to extend their sensational run.

The Elite League leaders have won their last 11 fixtures in a row – a club best – and beat their new A47 rivals 53-43 at the Norfolk Arena in April.

Even though the Stars will be without teenage talent Robert Lambert (Great Britain Under-21 World Cup duty) and Kenneth Bjerre (2015 Grand Prix qualifier), boss Rob Lyon is still feeling positive ahead of the derby clash.

He said: 'We're going from strength to strength and there's a lot more to come from this team yet.

'Leicester are without Jason Doyle and they've got Kenneth Hansen for Patrick Hougaard. So there's everything to play for and it's a good chance for us to pick up some more points.

'And we'll be going for it. We're in a great position. If we do lose a few meetings – which hopefully we don't – we've got a cushion of 13 points. It's been a tremendous start to the season.'

One rider who heads to Leicester in fine fettle is Dane Nicklas Porsing. The 21-year-old second string recorded his first maximum return in British speedway to leave Lyon delighted at his recent progress.

Most Read

Lynn's team boss added: 'We're now starting to reap the benefits and see the rider that we looked at last year and watched doing that sort of thing abroad.

'It is difficult for them (foreign riders) to settle over here. But since he's sorted his bikes out and stuff I think we've seen the full potential of him.'

The Stars will operate rider-replacement as a result of Bjerre's absence while Sam Masters will guest for Lambert.

Leicester will track three former Lynn riders in their side in the shape of Simon Stead, Mads Korneliussen and Lasse Bjerre.

Leicester: 1 Guest TBC, 2 Simon Stead, 3 Mads Korneliussen, 4 Lasse Bjerre, 5 Kenneth Hansen (G), 6 Josh Bates, 7 Max Clegg

Lynn: 1 Niels-Kristian Iversen, 2 Nicklas Porsing, 3 Rory Schlein, 4 Sam Masters (G), 5 Rider/replacement, 6 Lewis Kerr, 7 Lewis Rose