Kenneth Bjerre ready to make King’s Lynn Stars comeback at Poole Pirates

Kenneth Bjerre. Picture: Ian Burt

Kenneth Bjerre. Picture: Ian Burt - Credit: IAN BURT

Red-hot King's Lynn's firepower will be boosted this evening when Kenneth Bjerre returns to their line-up.

The Danish Grand Prix rider was in sensational form for the Stars before he broke his collarbone riding at the Norfolk Arena on April 30. And even though his side have won their four meetings they have competed in without him, Lynn will surely be stronger with him in their ranks for tonight's trip to champions Poole Pirates.

Bjerre, who top-scored in four of his five Lynn outings before getting injured, said: 'I raced on Sunday in Poland and the track was not as rough as it was during the GP in Finland (May 17). I scored 11 and I was not in too much pain so I couldn't not ride in England. It's going to be a crazy week for me. I'm riding every night for the rest of the week, but that's the way the fixtures come out.'

The Stars extended their unbeaten run to seven matches by beating Poole 47-43 on their own shale last week. Bjerre's replacement, world champion Tai Woffinden, only scored six points.

'I was enjoying riding in the UK and I was scoring good points,' said Lynn's returning heat leader.

'I need to get some meetings under my belt. It's been nice that the team has carried on winning without me, it would have been more disappointing to see us losing fixtures and not being able to do anything about it.'

Reserve Lewis Rose has been unable to overcome his fitness issues. Coming in as a guest in his place is Lakeside's Ben Morley. Poole, who are one of only two teams to collect a point from an away meeting at the Norfolk Arena this campaign, have drafted in Lewis Bridger for the fixture on the south coast. He will ride instead of former Stars rider Maciej Janowski (ill) who top-scored for the Pirates at Lynn last week with 11 paid 13.

Most Read

Poole: 1 Darcy Ward, 2 Josh Grajczonek, 3 Przemyslaw Pawlicki, 4 Vaclav Milik, 5 Lewis Bridger (guest), 6 Kyle Newman, 7 Ben Hopwood.

Lynn: 1 Niels-Kristian Iversen, 2 Nicklas Porsing, 3 Rory Schlein, 4 Robert Lambert, 5 Kenneth Bjerre, 6 Lewis Kerr, 7 Ben Morley (G).

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter