It’s five in a row for Frostbites in Trophy

A near perfect, albeit cold, Sunday greeted sailors last week with sunshine and a WSW wind ranging from Force 1-3 for much of the day.

Frostbites completed their 2012 team races with a comprehensive victory over WOBYC to retain the Ramuz Trophy for the fifth consecutive year.

The visitors arrived with an experienced team, fortified by a 10- point lead in the first leg sailed last June in Squibs, and encouraged by wind which gave a decent beat and run around the course.

Their hosts welcomed them with a strong team spearheaded by Ian Tims, David Mackley, and Paul Carrington, who immediately took control of the first race and the first three places, reducing the hosts' deficit to one point.

Tims then masterminded the second race, letting Ray Johnson forge ahead while he remained to pilot John Ellis through the opposition, Ellis ultimately crossing the finishing line third, barely 12 inches ahead of the leading visitors, Veronica Falat and Richard Thurston.

Snowflakes sailed their Second President's Cup, and, like Frostbites, welcomed a decent wind, at any rate upstream of the top of Swan Reach, where they enjoyed a fair beat and spinnaker run, although the less said about Swan Reach, its dead patches, and fickleness the better.

Q Stewart and Ian Hanson were the stars of the day, making three excellent starts, especially the second race, which proved decisive as they never had any serious challenge.

Most Read

In their wake Gordon Jewell and K Wright tussled with Roger and Paul Claxton to finish in that order, while Kim West, in her Laser, was the only dinghy to take a gun, in the afternoon race.

Rollesby's Winter Regatta drew 16 single-handers and eight multi-sails for three races, the former including five juniors who were out while their elders awaited a slight rise in the temperature.

One of these was Darren Pike, who found the air warm enough in time for the second race, which he went on to win, and, by astute reading of the wind, followed up with a third race and overall victory, relegating first race winner Peter Matthews to second overall.

Two juniors, Zoe Eastwood and Daniel Bull, earned second and third guns, Zoe in her Optimist and Daniel in his Topper.

The multi-sails were also hard fought, with route planning outranking boat speed, Ian and Sharon Ayres showing the way in their Leader to win the second and third races on handicap, with John Saddington and Dennis Manning fastest over the water in their Albacore. They toed on four points with Val and Chris Hanson, who had stopped to salvage a stranded Topper in the first race.

Finally, congratulations to Flip Foulds, who was awarded the Tim Whelpton trophy for excellence by a local under-25 sailor at the NSBA AGM on Monday in recognition of her achievements at national and European level in various craft over the past year. Tim's widow Anne presented the Trophy