Harry Webb in the thick of the podium at Snetterton

Norwich�s Tony Le May who just missed out on a podium place in race two. Picture: Ellen Tunstall

Norwich�s Tony Le May who just missed out on a podium place in race two. Picture: Ellen Tunstall - Credit: Archant

Harry Webb was in the thick of three closely fought SsangYong Racing Challenge pick-up races at Snetterton with the Topcroft racer standing on each step of the podium during the weekend.

Victory finally fell to the local racer in the finale after the British F4 racer outwitted Lewis Grant, the winner of the opening two races.

Webb had been unable to find a way past Grant in the opening race, despite the constant pressure, while in the second he lost a battle for second place with Michael O'Brien.

In a frantic opening Mini Seven encounter Lewis Selby did manage to lead Andrew Deviny across the finish line once but a couple of laps too early as Deviny took the chequered flag first.

Ashley Davies dislodged Deviny from the lead in race two but was thankful the race one winner retired after falling back to second mid race.

You may also want to watch:

Norwich racer Justin Cooper bounced back from a difficult first race to take second place in the concurrent S Class battle to Shaun Tarlton.

Eventually Mini Miglia race one winner Rupert Deeth was back in seventh place on the fourth lap of the race and looked beaten but a fantastic recovery drive saw him in the lead four laps from home and able to hold off Aaron Smith's late challenge.

Most Read

Deeth again beat Smith in race two with a late surge to the head of the field while Norwich's Tony Le May was narrowly beaten to a podium place by Dan Wheeler after the local racer retired out of the first encounter.

F3 Cup racer Christopher Dittmann completed a double while James Heffernan won the opening race but it was a set of solid results for Shane Kelly which kept him in the series lead.

In the Mini Challenge races Jessica Hawkins was another two time winner but could only register third place in the finale as Matt Howard claimed victory.

Scott Adam mirrored Hawkins in the Mini Open races losing a possible hat-trick to Jono Davis in the final encounter.

Colin Tester was able to keep Garry Burstow in check in the Trackday Trophy race in which Attleborough's Ray Honeybone claimed tenth place while in the Trackday Championship Darren Goes controlled events.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus