Group H

Belgium's Romelu Lukaku.

Belgium's Romelu Lukaku. - Credit: PA

There will be more than an air of familiarity among the Belgians, whose highly talented squad is littered with Premier League players (12 at the last count).

The Belgians are overflowing with talent and are a genuine shout to win the whole tournament. Coach Marc Wilmots is without Christian Benteke, but he has the likes of Eden Hazard, Adnan Januzaj, Romelu Lukaku and Vincent Kompany to call upon.

The opposition comes in the form of Algeria, Russia and South Korea. Russia are led by coach Fabio Capello who will hope to banish the memories of the 2010 World Cup with England.

South Korea reached the semi-finals on home soil in 2002, but haven't perhaps built on that success as many expected. The Asian football revolution is a slow burner.

Algeria, meanwhile, will be expected to repeat their last-place group finish at the last World Cup.

• Belgium

Most Read

Manager: Marc Wilmots

Star player: Eden Hazard

Previous record: 86 semi-finalists

Summary: Coach Wilmots has a stunning array of talent at his disposal: Belgium are many people's tips to upset the balance of power and lift the trophy for the first time. Lack of experience may prove their undoing.

• Russia

Manager: Fabio Capello

Star player: Igor Akinfeev

Previous record: Semi-finals, 1966

Summary: Eliminated early in their last two finals in 1994 and 2002. However, at USA 94 they beat Cameroon 6-1, with five goals by Oleg Salenko, who ended the tournament as joint leading marksman.

• Algeria

Manager: Vahid Halilhodzic

Star player: Madjid Bougherra

Previous record: Group stages

Summary: The Algerians have never advanced from the group stages in the World Cup finals appearances, but lay claim to one of the biggest shocks ever: beating West Germany 2-1 in the 1982 finals in Spain.

• Korea Republic

Manager: Hong Myung-bo

Star player: Lee Chung-yong

Previous record: 2002 semi-finalists

Summary: South Korea' s best effort came when they jointly hosted the 2002 tournament with Japan, losing to a Michael Ballack goal against

Germany. They have qualified for eight consecutive World Cup finals.