Grindrod takes advantage

Steve Dance and Nic Grindrod continued their chase for the Pick-Up Truck Championship last Sunday with the latter overturning his rival's advantage to leave Snetterton 30 points ahead.

As race one got underway Grindrod could only watch from the sidelines as his crew worked miracles to replace his alternator, after his engine wouldn't start.

Starting some 20 seconds behind the pack the Birmingham racer tore through the field to finally secure third place.

Meanwhile, Dance was fighting over the lead with Dave Briggs but a last corner moment for the latter allowed his rival a better run to the flag and relegate Briggs to second place by mere inches.

In race two it was Dance's turn to suffer misfortune while Grindrod was motoring to an easy victory.

You may also want to watch:

Briggs was keen to take second place from Phil White but overshot Murrays corner which allowed Dance to get onto the tail of White, but he mirrored Briggs' ambitious move which resulted in him breaking a half shaft to trail home a distance 11th.

Gavin Renshaw secured the Time Attack Pro class with his potent Mitsubishi Evo with a scorching second run around the Snetterton 200.

Most Read

Duncan Graham looked to have claimed second place with his flame spiting Subaru Impreza but the turbo whistling Nissan Skyline of Marcus Webster knocked his rival back to third with a late run.

Warren Kelly proved uncatchable in his Escort Cosworth to claim the Club Class while Andrew Barbour won the Club Challenge in his Mitsubishi Evo 5 as Gerry Atkinson claimed the Front Wheel Drive honours while Ronnie Amis was always in control of the Rear Wheel Drive division.

• Results

Pick-Up Truck Championship: Race One: Steve Dance; Dave Briggs +0.020s; Nic Grindrod.

Race Two (15 laps): Nic Grindrod; Michael Smith; Paul Tompkins.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter