Fans are treated to a stunning display

Lewis BealesThe undoubted headline act at the Classic Team Lotus Festival last weekend, which attracted over 20,000 Lotus fans, was Fairuz Fauzy's blast in the current Lotus T127 Grand Prix racer.Lewis Beales

The undoubted headline act at the Classic Team Lotus Festival last weekend, which attracted over 20,000 Lotus fans, was Fairuz Fauzy's blast in the current Lotus T127 Grand Prix racer.

Hitting a top speed of 300kph, it really was a thrilling experience, as was the high speed demonstration of the iconic Lotus 72 by Fauzy and Heikki Kovalainen in the Type 77. Fabulous.

The regular racing was also first class, with John Dickson, from Diss, highly disappointed not to have won the opening Heritage Grand Touring Car race when he spun his RAM Cobra just two laps from the finish while leading.

In Sunday's race his Cobra succumbed to mechanical problems which allowed Long Stratton's Roger Bennington and co-driver Boysie Thurtle to take victory in their Aston Martin V8 from the nimble Sunbeam Lotus driven by Joss Ronchetti and Norwich's Phil Seaman.

You may also want to watch:

Mulbarton's Tristan Cliffe had victory in the first Mono 2000 race snatched away from him by inches by the hard charging Jeremy Timms, who had been relegated to the back of the field.

Despite a demon qualifying lap the local racer had to once more follow the fast starting Timms across the finishing line in race two.

Most Read

King's Lynn's Wayne Howlett was out powered by Colin Tester in the second Toyo Tires saloon race after the local racer had finished in seventh place in the earlier event.

Marcus Jewell won the opening Lotus Elise Trophy race while Michael Edwards won the second, with Norwich's Steve Quick fourth in race one. But he fell back to 17th in race two while Dave Carr, also from Norwich, finished 19th and 23rd.

Ben Winrow was a double winner in the BMW races while Robin Welsh won the third race and Darren Stamp, from Norwich, finished 22nd and 17th in his two events.

The multi class Mono races both fell to Arty Cameron while Gavin Kirby and Jon Walker won a race apiece in the Lotus Cup Europe series.

t Results - Heritage Grand Touring Car Challenge - Race One: 1 John Wilson (MGB GTV8); 2 Grahame Bryant/Oliver Bryant (Morgan Plus 8); 3 Joss Ronchetti/Phil Seaman (Sunbeam Lotus). Race Two: 1 Roger Bennington/Boysie Thurtle (Aston Martin V8); 2 Joss Ronchetti/Phil Seaman; 3 Ian McCallum/John Bussell (Aston Martin DB5).

Mono 2000 - Race One: 1 Jeremy Timms (Dallara F397); 2 Tristan Cliffe (Dallara F398); 3 Richard Purcell (Dallara F300). Race Two: 1 Jeremy Timms; 2 Tristan Cliffe; 3 Malcolm Scott (Van Diemen).

Toyo Tires Racing Saloons - Race One: 1 Colin Tester (Ford Sierra Cosworth); 2 Robert Sadler (BMW M3); 3 Roger Kneebone (BMW M5). Race Two: 1 Colin Tester; 2 Wayne Howlett (BMW M3); 3 Robert Sadler.

Lotus Elise Trophy - Race One: 1 Marcus Jewell; 2 James Knight; 3 Michael Edwards. Race Two: 1 Michael Edwards; 2 James Knight; 3 Marcus Jewell.

BMW Production Championship - Race One: 1 Ben Winrow; 2 Nick Barke; 3 Rob Smith. Race Two: 1 Robin Welsh; 2 Liam Crilly; 3 Tim Wilson. Race Three: 1 Ben Winrow, 2 Nick Barke; 3 Robin Welsh.

Mono 1800/1600/1400/1000 - Race One: 1 Arty Cameron (Jedi Mk6); 2 Peter Whitmore (Van Diemen RF05); 3 Darren Freeman (Jedi Mk6). Race Two: 1 Arty Cameron; 2 Darren Freeman; 3 Geoff Fern (TFR 09).

Lotus Cup Europe - Race One: 1 Gavin Kirby; 2 Jon Walker; 3 Mark Gooday. Race Two: 1 Jon Walker; 2 Mark Gooday; 3 Christophe Lisandre.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter