Elite League top two King’s Lynn Stars and Poole Pirates ready to lock horns at Norfolk Arena

Lewis Kerr. Picture: Ian Burt

Lewis Kerr. Picture: Ian Burt - Credit: IAN BURT

Speedway fans could be witnessing an Elite League Grand Final dress rehearsal at the Norfolk Arena this evening.

King's Lynn Stars, top, and second-place Poole Pirates lock horns at Saddlebow Road with both sides looking certain to reach the end-of-season showcase. And with just two other clubs set to appear alongside the duo in the play-offs, it wouldn't be a surprise if the best that the British scene in 2014 has to offer meet again after tonight to determine this year's top-flight champions.

Poole, who won the title last term, arrive in scintillating form but will have to produce their best if they are to end the Stars' unbeaten home record. Lynn beat the south coast giants 47-43 at the NA earlier this term and are yet to taste a reverse on their own shale during their record-breaking campaign.

Home boss Rob Lyon has named a full-strength team after Lewis Kerr declared himself fit to ride following a hand injury. Lynn head into the meeting with added confidence having won at Belle Vue last time out, but with two former Stars in the opposing line-up, the clash will be no walkover.

Poole track Darcy Ward and Maciej Janowski in their line up. However, they'll be without without Shamek Pawlicki due to Polish championship commitments, so Coventry's Chris Harris will provide cover.

You may also want to watch:

Pirates boss Neil Middleditch told the Bournemouth Echo: 'Our next two meetings will provide a huge indication as to who will be in the top four at the end of the season. King's Lynn have been good all year but we've hit a good patch and I feel that if we can come away with a point up there, it will be a job well done. It will be tough as we've got no Shamek, but Bomber (Harris) has proved himself up there so we're looking for some good stuff from him.'

Most Read

Lynn: 1 Niels-Kristian Iversen, 2 Nicklas Porsing, 3 Rory Schlein, 4 Robert Lambert, 5 Kenneth Bjerre, 6 Lewis Kerr, 7 Lewis Rose

Poole: 1 Darcy Ward, 2. Vaclav Milik, 3. Chris Harris (Guest), 4. Josh Grajczonek, 5. Maciej Janowski, 6. Kyle Newman, 7. Benji Compton

- For updates from tonight's meeting, and all your latest Stars news and views, follow our speedway reporter by clicking on the link on the right-hand side of this page.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter