Elite League: Eastbourne Eagles 53, King’s Lynn Stars 39

Stars slipped back a place in the play-off race last night – despite another starring role by Niels-Kristian Iversen.

Rob Lyon's men were beaten 53-39 at Eastbourne while rivals Peterborough were cruising at home to Lakeside.

Panthers move above Lynn in the race for the Elite League play-off places.

Stars were always second best in East Sussex but kept hopes of a handy away point flickering until heat 14.

Then Lasse Bjerre and Nicklas Porsing were on the wrong end of a 5-1 as Lynn slipped 50-36 adrift with one race to go.

You may also want to watch:

Iversen's win in heat 15 meant he dropped just one point in five rides - but in vain.

Lynn's hopes of getting some reward, having fallen 38-21 down, were restored by a double points ride from their No.1.

Most Read

Iversen produced his third win out of three, this time going for double points, in heat 11 and was followed in by Mads Korneliussen to complete an 8-1.

Porsing did a good job keeping Timo Lahti at the back in heat 11 for a 3-3 to keep Stars' deficit at ten, by which time they already knew Peterborough had taken maximum points.

Iversen lost his unblemished record in heat 13 as home No.1 Bjarne Pedersen sped away for his first race win of the night.

But Rory Schlein helped Iversen pin Cameron Woodward at the back as the margin remained at ten points.

The chance of a point slipped away, though, in the following race as Kim Nilsson and Mikkel Michelsen completed a home maximum.

Korneliussen did most to back up Iversen and Schlein, though not fully fit, battled away.

But Eastbourne always looked to have more potential race winners once they recovered from conceding a 3-2 in heat one.

Lynn led after a bizarre opening race which saw Korneliussen and home rider Michelsen fall without making contact as they jostled for the lead on bend three first time around.

Pedersen then lost it in the re-run and remounted to finish more than half a lap behind Iversen.

Eastbourne, though, had a commanding 5-1 in heat two over a reserve pairing including young hotshot Adam Ellis as guest at No.7.

Lynn made their share of gates but Eagles had too much pace and track know how around the right 275-metre circuit, especially coming out of bend two.

Schlein was overhauled by both Lahti and Woodward after taking the lead in heat four.

Eastbourne had further 5-1s in heats nine and ten to open a 38-21 lead.

Eastbourne (number of rides): Simon Gustafsson 14+1 (6), Timo Lahti 10 (5), Bjarne Pedersen 9+3 (5), Cameron Woodward 9+1 (5), Kim Nilsson 6+1 (4), Mikkel Michelsen 5+2 (5), Lukas Dryml r/r.

Lynn: Niels Kristian Iversen 16+1^ (5), Rory Schlein 7 (4), Richie Worrall 6+1 (4), Mads Korneliussen 6+1 (5), Nicklas Porsing 3 (5), Lasse Bjerre 1 (4), Adam Ellis 0 (3).

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter