Downham stun Sprowston

Downham moved above Sprowston into second place in the Premier Division after an unlikely win in Saturday's head to head.

With eight overs remaining, Sprowston needed 31 for victory with five wickets in hand and Australian star Matt Foster well set.

But Downham's Brenton Wright (4-36) and Addam Todd (3-39) cleaned up the last five wickets for just three runs – with Foster (64) the last man to fall – to win by 26.

Wright (66) and captain Duncan Lanchester (53) had earlier steered Downham to 221 all out with Foster taking 5-47 in 13 overs. Rob Purton (50) and Iain Murrell (42) had helped Foster take Sprowston into an apparent winning position.

Norwich top the table after a winning draw despite being denied outright victory by Stow's tenth wicket partnership.

Their top order couldn't have done more with Dominic Matarazzo (100 not out), Oli Higenbottam (79) and Mark Tipping (73) sweeping them to 290-2. But the bowlers couldn't quite finish the job as Stow finished on 263-9 after some determined resistance from Jack Redhead (60) and Tom High (57).

A big six from capain Gareth Hopkins saw Ashmanhaugh & Barton Wanderers claim their first win of the season at home to Diss. After James Wilby's 71 had helped Diss to a total of 145, Hopkins (85 not out) levelled the scores with seven wickets in hand before, knowing he needed a six to gain his bottom of the table side an extra bonus point, lifting the ball over deep extra cover for victory.

Most Read

Terry Perry (88no) won the match with a four as his Old Buckenham side beat North Runcton by five wickets. The home side were bowled out for 190, despite Mark Skipper's 88, as Robbie Austin took 4-50.

Michael Warnes (89no) denied Fakenham victory as Cromer, chasing the hosts' 222 all out (Omar Phillips 51), finished on 169-9.

Brooke moved to the top of Division One with a six wickets win at Bradfield. Chasing Bradfield'a 202-9 (Chris Scannell 64, Ben Stone 4-54), the bulk of the job was done by a fourth-wicket stand of 124 between Joe Oakey (94no) and John Habershon (42).

Previous leaders Swardeston A slip to fourth after losing by five wickets to Lowestoft – now third – while Mattishall are up to second after beating Topcroft by six wickets.

Horsford A held on for a losing draw at 144-9 (Josh Rowe 4-23) after Acle had made 218-9 (Ben Watson 4-38).

Paul Reeve plundered 164 not out in Hethersett & Tas Valley's top of the table Division Two showdown against Garboldisham.

With Damian Fahey getting 56, Tim Shelley 43 and John Curtis 37 not out it helped the league leaders to amass 326-3. But they couldn't finish the job as 59 not out from Kristian Williams helped the hosts to hold out for a losing draw on 133-6.

There was another century at Downham A, who also topped 300 as Chris Sharp's 134 and Jack Gould's 70 helped the hosts to 304-5 against Swardeston B, who were bowled out for 129 (Jack Gould 4-6, Sam Sharp 4-23), despite 52 from Will Kennard.

Saham Toney won by seven wickets at Bradenham thanks to Will Dyer's 65 after Johnny Bidewell made 59 in the hosts' 233-6.

Norwich A finished 16 runs short of victory on 239-8 thanks to Barney Goodrum's 57 after 71 from Marcus Godbold helped Great Melton to 255-4.

Fakenham A (Jason Clarke 67no) beat Saxlingham (Jonathan Howard 71no, Alex Brown 5-36) by three wickets.

Great Witchingham A stayed top of Division Three after beating Loddon by four wickets. Thetford remain on their trail after winning by seven wickets at Bungay.

In Division Four Paul Stearman starred with bat and ball for Great Melton A, hitting 129 out of his side's 209 and then taking 4-45 as Mundford were bowled out for 150.

Mick Broad's 113 and Matt Coe's 50 helped Narborough make 245-3 at Stow A, who were dismissed for 122 with Jack Crisp taking 6-42.

Clive Bennett scored an unbeaten 57 and took 5-30 as Brooke A stayed top of Division Five with a thrilling one-wicket win over Ashmanhaugh.

Beccles A top Division Six after George Milton hit an unbeaten 114 out of 259-2 against Dereham A, who were bowled out for 121. Terry Hunter weighed in with 69 while Matt Lowe (4-56) and Nick Smith (4-33) each took four wickets.