Cycling Club Breckland hands out its annual prizes

Cycling Club Breckland honoured its prize winners at a dinner at the Richmond Golf Club in Watton, an event notable for the first presentation of their new Clubman of the Year cup.

This is in memory of Tony Reynolds, clubman par excellence, and went to Simon Atherton.

Alongside this was the Breckland's Service to the Club award which this year went to Val Hester, who amongst several other jobs was organiser of the dinner.

Guests of Honour were Keith Harrison and Sue Gatehouse, organisers in several capacities for Audax UK, the long distance cyclists' association.

Keith talked of his experiences with the running of London-Edinburgh-London, the 1,400km event that received a full field of one thousand entries within 24 hours of opening for business, and of the impact of the recent growth of interest in cycling on more grassroots events – like the Norfolk Nips series of 100km winter events. Go to if you would like to know more.

Club chairman Don Saunders was MC and a long list of racing award-winners was headed by Club Champion Roger Graham.

Next morning club members gathered at Berry Lane, Honingham for their annual hill climb and freewheeling competition where Harvey Hall was the fastest club member uphill and Emily Davis went furthest downhill.

Most Read

The East and South-East Regional Cross Championships are to be held on a new course at Trinity Park, Ipswich on Sunday, December 8. Details are at

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter