Cromer Town win Sterry Cup

Cromer Town have won the Sterry Cup for the first time in five years after emerging from a 3-1 home win over St Andrews to discover that title rivals Blofield United had lost 3-1 to Norwich St Johns.

Crabs manager Chris Wigger admitted that it felt a strange way to win the Premier Division title, explaining that he had not been attempting to keep in touch with how the Blofield game was going.

'I knew we had a job to do, which was to win our game, and I wasn't too fussed about what was happening elsewhere,' he said. 'I had it in my head that Blofield would win and we'd still have to win one of our last three games.

'It's nice to be able to go to Blofield next week with it in the bag but it was weird coming off the pitch, having a shower and waiting for the result to come in and winning it that way. It was great but it was strange.'

Wigger added: 'This means everything to this club. But this is something we've been waiting for the two or three years since I've been involved as manager and it means a massive amount.'

The Crabs were indebted to goals from Craig Terrington, Simon Durrant and Dale Wilton, with Danny Pennell on the scoresheet for St Andrews.

Norwich St Johns beat Blofield with goals from Francis McLoughlin, Lloyd Greening and Luke Tuttle, Danny Brown replying for Blofield, who are nine points off them in second with four games in hand.

Most Read

Acle United kept the pressure on St Johns with a 2-0 home win over Kirkley & Pakefield Reserves. Acle are five points away in third, but have two games in hand, with Jordan Haverson and Adam Sivell on target on Saturday.

Mattishall suffered a 2-1 loss at Spixworth, whose goals came from Mark Bloomfield and Damian Didwell. Gary Harbour was on target for Mattishall.

Hempnall and Beccles finished 0-0 while goals from Tim Kirby and Stuart Able gave Dersingham a 2-1 home win over Sheringham (Jonathan Abbs).

North Walsham (Perry Payne 2, Robert Grand, Luke Foulser and Alex Fitzgerald) hit five against bottom side Brandon (Liam Farnham).

In Division One, Wells clinched the title with a 5-0 win away to Reepham Town, where a hat-trick from Scott Sutherland-Gray and extras from Tom East and Niall McCallum did the damage.