Costessey Park’s Tanner wins opening Order of Merit event

Brothers Billy and Johnny Seaward who were again winners of the Links Country Park's Winter League.

Brothers Billy and Johnny Seaward who were again winners of the Links Country Park's Winter League. Picture: LINKS GC - Credit: Archant

The opening event of the Norfolk Golf Union's Order of Merit series took place at Costessey Park, with home players taking centre stage.

Aiden Tanner took the scratch prize with a round of 72 which left him one ahead of Costessey colleague Ian Rollett.

There players finished on 74, Bruce McQuade of Royal Norwich, Dylan Green of Costessey Park and Josh Weeds of Bawburgh.

Charlie Woodward of Barnham Broom won the handicap competition with a nett 68 from Paul Hunter (Costessey Park, 69), Graham Cullum (Costessey Park, 69), Stuart Bennett (Costessey Park, 69) and Andrew Risbro (Bawburgh, 70).

There was an excellent field of 84 entries.

The Order of Merits competitions are filling up nicely so anyone wanting to enter should get their entries in as quickly as possible.

The annual match for the Alan Winstanley Trophy between Norfolk Seniors, Norfolk Girls and the Norfolk under-14 squad took place at Sheringham Golf Club.

Most Read

It turned out to be a very close affair, with the girls winning on the last hole. Final scores: Norfolk Seniors 1½, Norfolk Under-14s 5, Norfolk Girls 5½.

At Links Country Park brothers Billy and Jonny Seaward have won the club's Winter American Matchplay competition for the third year running. After eight rounds of four ball betterball stableford, with the best six scores to count, there was a tie for first on 258 points. The Seawards won the play-off, beating Irving Newton and Barrie Bensley after two holes.

There was no doubting the winner of the nearest the pin prize at Dereham Golf Club's Ladies' President and Captain's Day. Annie Langstaff produced superb ace at the designated 12 hole to take the silver spoon, for which £131 has been raised for Macmillan Cancer Sport.

She was part of the winning team at the 18-hole team Stableford alongside Beth Buckingham, Heather Pincott and Jenny Filby.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter