Big changes announced for Norfolk’s knockout cricket competitions as Carter Cup approaches 50th anniversary

The champagne flows as Swardeston celebrate their 2017 Carter Cup triumph. Picture: Tim Ferley

The champagne flows as Swardeston celebrate their 2017 Carter Cup triumph. Picture: Tim Ferley - Credit: Archant

As the 50th anniversary of the Bob Carter Challenge Cup approaches, important changes to Norfolk's knockout competitions have been announced.

As the landmark will be marked during the 2018 campaign, the Carter Cup Committee has aptly decided to update the county's cup competitions to fit in with the demands of the modern game.

Following consultation with participating clubs it has been announced that the Carter Cup will become a 50-over tournament, with a maximum of 16 clubs competing and all games starting at midday.

The Carter/NACO Cup will then also comprise of 50-over games starting at 12pm, played out by the eight first round losers from the Carter Cup in a sequence of knockout relegation matches, with the losers of the Carter/NACO Cup loser's final going into next year's Lady Mary Trophy.

A statement released by the Carter Cup Committee explained: 'The main effect of these changes will mean: clubs will not have to provide a lunchtime meal but there will be the need for the usual cricket tea during the innings break.

You may also want to watch:

'Hopefully clubs will not have to struggle to organise teams for a full day match.

'The 60-over format, played since the inception of the competition, will now cease to exist and the rules and regulations have been amended accordingly.'

MORE: Swardeston dominate with both bat and ball to retain the Carter Cup

Most Read

Clubs will be sent full details ahead of the organisation's annual general meeting, which is being held at the RG Carter Bowls Club in Drayton from 7.30pm on Thursday, December 7.

The draw for the 2018 season first round matches, to be played on Sunday, April 29, will be made at the AGM. All future draws will be made on the Friday following the Sunday game.

The Lady Mary Trophy becomes a 40-over competition with 16 teams and with the winner invited to compete in the Carter Cup the following season, with games starting at 1pm.

The Carter/NACO Shield will be contested by the eight first round losers from the Lady Mary Trophy, also played over 40 overs and starting at 1pm – with the Trophy draw also to be made at the AGM, for first round games on Sunday, May 13.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus