Ben Youngs loses out to Ireland skipper Paul O’Connell in voting for Six Nations award

England's Ben Youngs is blocked down by Ireland's Paul O'Connell during the RBS Six Nations match at

England's Ben Youngs is blocked down by Ireland's Paul O'Connell during the RBS Six Nations match at the Aviva Stadium, Dublin. Picture: PA - Credit: PA Wire/Press Association Images

Ben Youngs has been voted into sixth place in voting for the RBS Six Nations Player of the Championship award, which has been won by Ireland captain Paul O'Connell.

The Irish lock Secured over 26% of the public vote (18,842 votes) ahead of Wales' Alun Wyn Jones (19%).

The race for third was separated by just 0.9% of the votes, with Ireland's Robbie Henshaw third with 7750 votes and Wales' Dan Biggar fourth with 7681 votes.

Italy skipper Sergio Parisse finished fifth with 7% of the votes, just ahead of Norfolk-born Youngs, who received 6% of the votes.

England fly-half George Ford and Scotland's Stuart Hogg and Jonny Gray were also nominated for the award.

You may also want to watch:

This shortlist was decided through a combination of match statistics, analysing the best performing players across a set range of criteria, and a public vote.

The combination of the two processes was designed to ensure the 12-man shortlist is a true reflection of the greatest players throughout the Championship.

Most Read

Youngs, 25, won his 47th cap in England's dramatic 55-35 victory over France in the final match of the tournament – which saw Ireland narrowly claim the Six Nations title on points difference.

The Leicester Tigers star – who played junior rugby at Holt and North Walsham alongside older brother and England team-mate, Tom – scored two tries and was named man of the match.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus