Beccles Caxton take Halesworth and District Darts League title over Earsham Queen

Caxton were the victorious party in the Halesworth and District Independent League despite derby defeat.

Going into the final week of the season there was a single point between Beccles Caxton and Earsham Queen.

In the derby against Beccles Ingate the doubles were shared to leave the match poised at 2-2. With the next six singles shared it went down to the deciding match, where S Driver beat M Cable over three legs and the Ingate held the upper hand.

However with the unbeaten V Mudd on last for Caxton it looked liked a draw was the likely result – but in a battle of the two captains F Ansell pulled off a shock 2-0 win to give the Ingate the win.

It meant an Earsham win would take the title, but they were up against Duke of York, and 180s in the doubles by J Lowe and M Meen set the tone.

Duke rushed to a 5-1 lead and while Queen fought back with wins for G Doughty and A Pidd, J Lowe, N Clarke and D Ling Snr took Duke to victory, leaving Caxton champions.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter