Acle retain title as trophies are handed out

PUBLISHED: 23:32 16 March 2011

Winning teams from 2010 were presented with awards at the AGM of the Norwich City Tennis League.

In Men’s Division One, Acle A retained the winners’ trophy with Bracondale second.

Taverham B topped Division Two in style, losing just one match and achieving a game difference of 220.

Cringleford gained promotion as champions of Division Three and will be joined by Brooke B, who pipped Wymondham A to the second promotion spot.

Division Four saw North Elmham A lose just one match and finish as champions. An excellent run from Cromer C in the second half of the season was good enough for second place and promotion.

Three teams fought over the top positions in Division Five. Taverham D eventually emerged at the top of the pile, ahead of Dereham and Wymondham B.

Norfolk CC A had an unbeaten season in Division Six and went up as champions with North Elmham C, who beat their B team into second.

Ladies Division One was won by Acle A, who retained their crown by a single point over EA Lions A.

There was another tight finish in Division Two as Cromer B beat Blofield B to the top spot by virtue of their draw with Brooke.

Cringleford were dominant in Division Three, winning 10 of their 12 matches and finishing with a game difference of 248.

Aylsham beat off stiff competition to finish in second place.

North Elmham and EA Lions C were promoted from Division Four.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Eastern Daily Press

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists