Vicar blesses Great Yarmouth ale named to mark wartime bomb damage
Great Yarmouth's multi award-winning brewery Lacons hosted its annual Winter Gathering, to celebrate the launch of St Nick's, their hand-crafted ale brewed for the festive season.
This week, with a crisp chill filling the air at the historic brewery courtyard, the Rev Jemma Sander-Heys and brewery staff stood before the Christmas beer to bless it.
In the evening, Lacons hosted a Winter Gathering to celebrate. Around 200 guests were welcomed inside to tour the brewery in Main Cross Road, which also boasts a Victorian themed taproom and intriguing museum, documenting the brewers fascinating origins back to 1760 in the town's historic Market Rows.
As guests congregated in the brewery courtyard, Lacons director Trevor Hourican invited them to raise their glasses to the ale which pays homage to the Minster Church, which took a direct hit alongside the original Falcon brewery during a German air raid in 1942.
Mr Hourican said: 'As both buildings burnt, the stretched fire service had to choose which building to save. Needless to say, the now stunning Minster was reconsecrated in 1961! Thankful of this sacrifice, we stand here proud to have named this limited edition Christmas ale after the church that paid the ultimate price to ensure beer could still be brewed in Great Yarmouth throughout the Second World War.'
You may also want to watch:
Guests charged their glasses for special guest Rev Jemma Sander-Heys of Great Yarmouth Minster Church.
Rev Jemma commented said: 'The association between the church and ale is an interesting one and has been present for centuries; Monks once brewed in the monastery that stood on the site of St Nicholas' Church so I am thrilled to honour this occasion by blessing this ale which will be savoured by many worshippers at our annual carol service.'
- 1 Drink driver arrested after crashing into two trees in Norwich
- 2 Jack-knifed lorry shuts A148 as police issue ice warning
- 3 Atlantis Tower up for sale after owner signs ‘outrageous’ loan deal
- 4 9 of Norfolk's most famous blue plaques
- 5 Yellow weather warning for snow in place across region
- 6 Map reveals the most serious crashes on the NDR since it fully opened
- 7 Centre takes action after IT failure causes long queues for Covid jab
- 8 The secrets and scandals of a former Norwich hotel
- 9 Covid rates continue to fall across Norfolk, especially in Norwich
- 10 Out on the beat - we join police Covid patrol on the seafront
A very limited supply of St Nick's in five litre mini casks is available in the lead up to Christmas direct from the brewery shop in Yarmouth.
For more details, call 01493 850578 or email email@example.com
An extensive range of artefacts and memorabilia awaits visitors to the bewery museum. The collection maps the journey from the establishment of Lacons in 1760 in Great Yarmouth's medieval rows, through to its successful move into a purpose built brewery that had foundations laid in June 1895. Many collectors and enthusiasts have donated countless hours and objects which showcase the great achievements of the brewery and its public houses over 250 years.
There are old recipe books, pub signage carrying the iconic falcon emblem to original bottles that surprisingly still remain unopened some 60-100 years since production. Photographs and stories from the past help paint the unique dynasty of Lacons that is now once again brewing with great care and attention to detail.