Shortlist announced for 2017 Norfolk Sports Awards

Scenes from the Norfolk Sports Awards 2016 held at Open in Norwich - All the nights winners. Picture

Scenes from the Norfolk Sports Awards 2016 held at Open in Norwich - All the nights winners. Picture: Matthew Usher.

Talented athletes, dedicated volunteers and inspirational coaches are among those shortlisted for this year's Norfolk Sports Awards.

Judges were given the difficult task of whittling down more than 340 entries to just three candidates for each of the 11 award categories.

It has been a strong 12 months for our county's athletes, sports clubs and teams. But what is notable this year is the number of new faces who have made the shortlist.

Kristen Hall, marketing communications officer at Active Norfolk, said: 'The judges were extremely impressed with the calibre of nominations this year, there were a lot of strong nominations from across the county, and we were pleased to see a lot of new names coming through.'

The winners will be announced at an awards evening at Open in Norwich from 7pm on Tuesday, November 14.

The shortlist:

Sports Personality of the Year sponsored by Pilch Intersport

Most Read

• Iona Lake

• Kimberley Morrison

• Ryan Walsh

Young Sports Personality of the Year sponsored by City College Norwich

• Molly Lambert

• Molly Thomas

• Toby Booth

Active Workplace of the Year sponsored by Waitrose

• Aviva

• ReAssure

• SaxonAir

Sports Team of the Year sponsored by Easton & Otley College

• City of Norwich Under 15 Girls Cross Country team

• Norfolk Under 13 Boys Cricket team

• Norfolk Under 15 Girls Sportshall Athletics team

Activity in the Community Award sponsored by ReAssure

• Fitness Boxing

• North Norfolk District Council Leisure & Locality Services

• Special Olympics

Power Of Physical Activity sponsored by Premier Education Group

• Costas Eleftheriades

• Elliot Tolmie

• Larissa Smith

Community Club of the Year sponsored by Sportspark

• Retroskate

• Sprowston U16 Girls Football

• Tri-Anglia

Coach of the Year sponsored by 4Sports

• Chris Hemstock

• Joe Stirling

• Tim & Pauline Ash

Services to Disability Sport sponsored by Norse

• Carole Darnell

• Jon Thaxton and Rachael Hutchinson

• Katie Warrant

BBC Unsung Hero sponsored by BBC Radio Norfolk

• Cecil Page

• Kevin Raisborough

• Stuart Pontin

Active School of the Year sponsored by Young Norfolk Sports Academy

• Avenue Junior School

• Aylsham High School

• Rollesby Primary School and Nursery

For more information, visit:

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter