Full list of who is standing in the 2017 general election in Norfolk and Waveney

The country will go to the polls for the general election on June 8. Pic: Nick Butcher.

The country will go to the polls for the general election on June 8. Pic: Nick Butcher.

Archant © 2017

After announcing they would not field general election candidates in a number of Norfolk seats, UKIP have sprung a surprise by standing in a number of constituencies where they might have been expected to stand aside.

Norman Lamb, Liberal Democrat candidate for North Norfolk. Picture: MARK BULLIMORENorman Lamb, Liberal Democrat candidate for North Norfolk. Picture: MARK BULLIMORE

The party was wiped out in Norfolk and Suffolk county elections and had urged its supporters to ‘lend’ pro-Brexit Conservatives their votes in North Norfolk, Norwich South and Norwich North.

They are also not standing in South Norfolk, although it was already known they would run in Great Yarmouth.

But the final candidate list shows they are fielding candidates in Broadland, North West Norfolk, Mid Norfolk and South West Norfolk.

Given their approach in other Norfolk areas, it is particularly surprising they are standing against Henry Bellingham in North West Norfolk, given his staunch support for Brexit.

Catherine Blaiklock, UKIP's parliamentary candidate for Great Yarmouth. Pic: UKIP.Catherine Blaiklock, UKIP's parliamentary candidate for Great Yarmouth. Pic: UKIP.

In North Norfolk, UKIP’s decision not to stand and to ask supporters to vote for Conservative James Wild is a calculated attempt to unseat Norman Lamb.

UKIP got 8,328 votes last time and the Conservatives 15,256 to Mr Lamb’s 19,299, so if UKIP supporters were to go blue it could spell trouble for the Lib Dem.

Of course, politics is never that simple and Mr Lamb is quick to play down the significance. He will have been buoyed by the Greens’ decision not to stand as they would “rather see Norman Lamb win than a pro-Brexit anti-PR Conservative”.

In Norwich South, the late Steve Emmens got 4,539 votes for UKIP last time, but they were as likely to be disaffected Labour voters as lapsed Conservatives.

Labour’s Clive Lewis had a majority of 7,654, but the Conservatives, evidenced by prime minister Theresa May’s recent visit, are throwing a lot at Lana Hempsall’s attempt to win the seat.

It will be interesting to see whether Liberal Democrat James Wright can capitalise on his party’s recent revival as the self-styled pro-EU champions and how the Greens will fare, having lost four Norwich divisions to Labour in last week’s county elections.

UKIP lost all their county council seats in Great Yarmouth, but, with a dozen councillors on the borough council, it is maybe a pragmatic decision to stand there - to show the game is not up.

North West Norfolk MP Henry Bellingham. Picture: Matthew Usher.North West Norfolk MP Henry Bellingham. Picture: Matthew Usher.

These are the confirmed candidates standing in the general election:

Broadland: Andrew Boswell (Green); David Moreland (UKIP); Iain Simpson (Labour); Keith Simpson (Conservative); Steve Riley (Liberal Democrat)

Labour's Clive Lewis.  Picture: ANTONY KELLYLabour's Clive Lewis. Picture: ANTONY KELLY

Great Yarmouth: Catherine Blaiklock (UKIP); James Joyce (Liberal Democrats); Brandon Lewis (Conservative); Mike Smith-Clare (Labour); Harry Webb (Green)

Mid Norfolk: George Freeman (Conservative); Tracy Knowles (UKIP); Hannah Lester (Green(; Sarah Simpson (Labour); Fionna Tod (Liberal Democrats)

North Norfolk: Stephen Burke (Labour); Norman Lamb (Liberal Democrat); James Wild (Conservative)

North West Norfolk: Henry Bellingham (Conservative); Michael de Whalley (Green); Rupert Moss-Eccardt (Liberal Democrat); Jo Rust (Labour); Michael Stone (UKIP)

Norwich North: Adrian Holmes (Green); Chris Jones (Labour); Hugh Lanham (Liberal Democrat) Liam Matthews (Pirate Party UK); Chloe Smith (Conservative);

Norwich South: Richard Bearman (Green); Lana Hempsall (Conservative); Clive Lewis (Labour); James Wright (Liberal Democrat)

South Norfolk: Richard Bacon (Conservative); Chris Brown (Liberal Democrat); Danielle Glavin (Labour); Catherine Rowett (Green);

South West Norfolk: Stephen Gordon (Liberal Democrats); Peter Smith (Labour); Elizabeth Truss (Conservative); David Williams (UKIP)

Waveney: Peter Aldous (Conservative); Sonia Barker (Labour); Allyson Barron (Independent); Elfrede Brambley-Crawshaw (Green); Jacky Howe (Liberal Democrat); Bert Poole (UKIP).

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Eastern Daily Press. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Related articles

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Eastern Daily Press