Conservatives lose North Norfolk majority as eighth councillor resigns

PUBLISHED: 11:32 27 October 2017 | UPDATED: 09:56 28 October 2017

Simon Hester

Simon Hester

An eighth Conservative councillor at the North Norfolk District Council has resigned from the party.

Simon Hester, ward councillor for Priory, will now be representing his ward as an Independent councillor.

In his resignation, Mr Hester wrote: “I am to resign from the Conservative Group on North Norfolk District Council and sit as a member on the Independent Group. 
“This is the only way I may continue to effectively represent the best interests of my constituents without fear of retribution arising from constructive criticism.”

Mr Hester will join fellow Conservative defectors Nick Coppack, Angie Fitch-Tillett, John Rest, Georgie Perry-Warnes, Doug Smith and Annie Green as Independent Group councillors.

As a result of this news, the Conservative Group will now be running the North Norfolk District Council with 24 seats, with the Liberal Democrat and Independent Group opposition now also holding 24 seats.

Other councillors who have resigned from the party have referenced leadership and policies as their reasons for quitting.

Most Read

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Latest from the EDP

Show Job Lists



max temp: 11°C

min temp: 7°C

Listen to the latest weather forecast