Candidates for Norfolk County Council Yare and All Saints by-election revealed

PUBLISHED: 13:10 19 June 2018 | UPDATED: 13:11 19 June 2018

Ed Connolly. Picture supplied by: Norfolk Conservatives

Ed Connolly. Picture supplied by: Norfolk Conservatives

Harry Clarke/Norfolk Conservatives/Colin King

The candidates in the Norfolk County Council by-election for the Yare and All Saints division have been announced.

The by-election was triggered following the death of County Hall leader Cliff Jordan earlier this month. Conservative Mr Jordan had held the seat since 2001.

The candidates are: Harry Clarke (Labour), Edward Connolly (Conservatives) and Andrew Thorpe (Liberal Democrats).

The poll will take place between 7am and 10pm on Thursday, July 12.

The division includes Bradenham, Cranworth, Garvestone, Great Ellingham, Hardingham, Little Ellingham, Rocklands, Saham Toney, Scoulton, Shipdham, Whinburgh, Westfield and Yaxham.

County Hall is under the control of the Conservatives. They have 53 seats, Labour have 16, the Liberal Democrats 11. There are two independents and one independent (non-aligned).

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Eastern Daily Press. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Most Read

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Most Read

Latest from the Eastern Daily Press