Who will replace Nigel Farage? Meet the UK Independence Party leadership candidates

Who will replace this man as leader of UKIP? Anna Gowthorpe/PA Wire

Who will replace this man as leader of UKIP? Anna Gowthorpe/PA Wire - Credit: PA

The UK Independence Party has revealed the slate of candidates who will compete to replace Nigel Farage at the top of the eurosceptic party.

Six names have made it onto the shortlist - but favourite Steven Woolfe has been excluded from the race.

The migration spokesman was seen as the preferred heir of Mr Farage, but was 17 minutes late submitting his nomination papers.

Supporters claimed he had been the victim of a coup led by Ukip's only MP, Douglas Carswell, and Neil Hamilton, group leader in the Welsh Assembly.

The ruling National Executive Committee voted to block his candidacy by a 'clear majority', a spokesman said.

You may also want to watch:

MEPs Bill Etheridge, Diane James and Jonathan Arnott along with Elizabeth Jones, Councillor Lisa Duffy and Phillip Broughton will all be on the ballot paper.

A Ukip spokesman said: 'By a clear majority of NEC members, Steven Woolfe MEP's application was considered to be ineligible as a result of a late submission and as such he did not meet the eligibility criteria. His membership of the party was not in question.'

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus