Norwich North previous election results

Results from the 2009 (by-election), 2005, 2001 and 1997 elections

2009 by-election results:

Chloe Smith (Con) 13,591; Chris Ostrowski (Lab) 6,243; April Pond (Lib Dems) 4,803; Glenn Tingle (Ind) 4,068; Rupert Read (Greens) 3,350; Craig Murrary (Put an Honest Man into Parliament) 953; Robert West (BNP) 941; Bill Holden (Ind) 166; Alan Hope (Monster Raving Loony) 144; Anne Fryatt (NOTA) 59; Thomas Burridge (Libertarian) 36; Peter Baggs (Ind) 23. Maj 7,348. Turnout 45.76pc.

You may also want to watch:

2005 results:

Most Read

Ian Gibson (Lab) 21,097; James Tumbridge (Con) 15,638; Robin Whitmore (Lib Dems) 7,616; Adrian Holmes (Greens) 1,252; John Youles (UK Ind) 1,122; Bill Holden (Ind) 308. Maj 5,459. Turnout 61.1pc.

2001 results:

Ian Gibson (Lab) 21,624; Kay Mason (Con) 15,761; Moira Toye (Lib Dems) 6,750; Rob Tinch (Greens) 797; Guy Cheyney (UK Ind) 471; Michael Betts (Ind) 211. Maj 5,863. Turnout 60.0pc.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter