Norwich Greens reveal county council election candidates

Richard Bearman, leader of the Green group at County Hall.

Richard Bearman, leader of the Green group at County Hall. - Credit: Evening News © 2008

Norwich Green Party has confirmed the candidates who will be battling for city division seats in the forthcoming county council elections.

The county will go to the polls on May 2, with every county council seat up for grabs and the Green Party is fielding a candidate in every Norwich seat.

Richard Bearman, leader of the Green Party group at County Hall, said: 'Green Party councillors bring fresh thinking to County Hall.

'We are pressing for the council to involve residents more in decisions that affect them - rather than ignoring local opinion as the Conservatives are doing over the incinerator in West Norfolk and development plans around the county.

'We want to see more support for small independent businesses and the local economy and we are campaigning for investment in high quality public transport and measures to encourage walking and cycling rather than spending tens of millions of pounds on new road-building.'

You may also want to watch:

He said the candidates have a wide range of backgrounds - including a landscape gardener, an IT programmer and a solicitor.

The candidates are: Jean Bishop (Bowthorpe), Tony Park (Catton Grove), Judith Ford (Crome), Jane Saunders (Eaton), Tim Jones (Lakenham), Richard Bearman (Mancroft), Richard Edwards (Mile Cross), Andrew Boswell (Nelson), Jonathan Hill (Sewell), Adrian Dearnley (Thorpe Hamlet), Paul Neale (Town Close), Elizabeth Morgan (Wensum) and Elliot Folan (University).

Most Read

Councillors Jenny Toms and Marcus Hemsley, who have represented Sewell and Wensum respectively for the past four years have announced they will be stepping down due to work and family commitments.

Stephen Little, county councillor for Town Close, is also stepping down, but will continue representing the ward at city council level.

As reported, Graeme Gee, Green city councillor for Mancroft ward, resigned this week due to ill health and work commitments.

Mr Bearman said: 'I and my colleagues would like to thank Graeme, Stephen, Jenny and Marcus for all their efforts and support as Green councillors.'

The public will go to the polls on May 2 to vote on all 84 seats on Norfolk County Council, which is Conservative-controlled.

• Do you have a story about a local council? Call reporter Dan Grimmer on 01603 772375 or email

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter