Norwich and Great Yarmouth council elections: Who is standing and how do I register to vote

Norwich and Great Yarmouth will go to the polls next month. Picture: Matthew Usher.

Norwich and Great Yarmouth will go to the polls next month. Picture: Matthew Usher. - Credit: Matthew Usher

With Norwich and Great Yarmouth going to the polls next month, people have until the end of today to register to vote.

Election Day is Thursday, May 3. At Norwich City Council 13 of 39 seats are up for election and at Great Yarmouth Borough Council 14 out of 39 seats are being contested.

In Norwich, the Conservatives, Greens, Labour and the Liberal Democrats have a full slate of candidates for all 13 divisions, but UKIP are fielding no candidates.

Norwich City Council is currently under the control of Labour. They have 26 seats, the Green Party 10 and the Liberal Democrats three.

This is the last time Great Yarmouth Borough Council, which is under Conservative control, will carry out elections by thirds.

You may also want to watch:

All councillors this year will be elected for a term of one year, rather than the normal four.

Following a local referendum, the borough council is moving to whole council elections from May 2019, when all 39 seats will be available.

Most Read

Although the polls close on the evening of Thursday, May 3, the counts will not take place until the following day.

If people have not already registered to vote they can do so here. The deadline is midnight.

Who is standing in the elections?

Norwich City Council

BOWTHORPE: Jean Bishop (G); Oliver Healey (LD); Sue Sands (L); Andrew Wiltshire (C)

CATTON GROVE: Henry Newton (C); Tony Park (G); Mike Stonard (L); Leigh Tooke (LD)

CROME: Judith Ford (G); Tom Sherman (C); Marion Maxwell (L); Samuel Neal (LD)

EATON: Samantha England (C); Ben Hardie (L); Jane Saunders (G); James Wright (LD)

LAKENHAM: Emily Cutler (LD); Eric Masters (C); Peter Offord (G); Rachel Trevor (L)

MANCROFT: Sandra Bogelein (G); Iain Gwynn (C); Jo Smith (L); Sarah Tustin (LD)

MILE CROSS: Richard Edwards (I); John Fisher (C); Adrian Holmes (G); Jacob Huntley (L); Chris Thomas (LD)

NELSON: Reece Durrant (C); David Fairbairn (LD); Emma Hampton (L); Paul Neale (G)

SEWELL: Neil Hardman (LD); Tessa Jackson (C); Cami Ouzerdine (G); Matthew Packer (L)

THORPE HAMLET: Gordon Dean (LD); Lesley Grahame (G); Alex Jackson-Dennis (C); Cavan Stewart (L)

TOWN CLOSE: Nick Caistor (G); Mary Chacksfield (C); Silvia Schmidtova (LD); Ian Stutely (L)

UNIVERSITY: Syed Ahmod (C); Connor Bell (LD); Matthew Fulton-McAlister (L); Claire Stephenson (G)

WENSUM: Erin Fulton-McAlister (L); Thomas Holloway (G); Thomas Sheppard (C); David Thomas (LD)

Key: C – Conservative; G – Green Party; I – Independent; L – Labour; LD – Liberal Democrat

Great Yarmouth Borough Council

BRADWELL NORTH: Graham Plant (C); Jo Thurtle (L)

BRADWELL SOUTH AND HOPTON: Carl Annison (C); James Borg (L)

CAISTER NORTH: Graham Carpenter (C); Jack Cutting (U); Sandy Griffiths (L)

CAISTER SOUTH: Tom Andrews (U); Malcolm Bird (C); Andrew Booth (L); Lynne Connell (T)

CENTRAL AND NORTHGATE: Thomas Allen (C); Paul Buttifant (T);Richard Jeffs (C); Jade Martin (L); Derek Poole (U); Mike Smith-Clare (L): Phillip Trindall (U)

CLAYDON: Michael Monk (T); Racheal Moore (C); Cara Walker (L)

EAST FLEGG: Edd Bush (L); Noel Galer (C)

GORLESTON: Kay Grey (C); Kate Guyton (L); McCarthy Webb (T)

LOTHINGLAND: David Drewitt (C); Adrian Myers (T); Christina Stewart (L)

MAGDALEN: Angela Buttifant (T); George Rogers (C); Trevor Wainwright (L)

NELSON: Aurelio Goncalves Spinola (C) Matt Swann (T); Tony Wright (L)

SOUTHTOWN AND COBHOLM: Cathy Cordiner-Achenbach (L); Margaret Farrow (C); Graham Knight (U) Hayden Turner (T)

YARMOUTH NORTH: Philip Grimmer (U); John Simmons (L); Katy Stenhouse (C)

KEY: C - Conservative; L - Labour; U - UKIP; T - Tribune

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter