Labour hoping for swing in Yarmouth

While Labour are confident they can make up ground on Great Yarmouth Borough Council, the ruling Tory group's main ambition is to hold their own and successfully weather anti feelings against the coalition government.

Labour leader Mick Castle said from canvassing on the doorstep he had detected a significant swing their way but doubted it would be strong enough to reach the magic number of 20 seats to seize control. (Labour currently controls 15 wards against the Tories' 24 with 13 up for election.)

'There is generally a lot of anger about the government cuts, but I think it is more likely we will win back control next year,' he said.

Mr Castle picked out Caister North and St Andrews as promising target wards, their candidate in St Andrews being Barbara Wright, wife of Yarmouth's former MP Tony.

Tory leader Barry Coleman said while local elections could become a referendum on the national government, he hoped people would show confidence in what the council had done for Yarmouth.

'We are giving the same services as last year without any council tax increase,' he said.

Mr Coleman said while their primary aim was to hold what they had got, they hoped they could add a couple of seats.

Most Read

'Bob Peck is a very strong candidate in Caister South and Nelson ward could be interesting,' he said.

Great Yarmouth Borough Council nominations.

Nelson Ward: Malcolm Bird (C), Kerry Payne (Lab), Brenda Taylor (Ind); Central and Northgate: Gordon Dean (Lib Dem), Marie Field (Lab), Thomas Garrod (C); Ormesby: Colin Fox (Lab), James Shrimplin (C); St Andrews: Bryan Watts (C), Barbara Wright (Lab); West Flegg: Luke Boydell (Lab), Mary Coleman (C); Fleggburgh: Katie Jeavons-Golding (Lab), David Thompson (C); Lothingland: Mark Thompson (C), Christine Leaver Williamson (Lab); Magdalen: Carl Smith (C), Brian Walker (Lab); Bradwell North: Maurice Johnson (Lab), James Tate (C); Bradwell South and Hopton: Colin Aldred (UKIP), Michael Brackenbury (Green), Susan Hacon (C), Hilary Wainwright (Lab); Caister North: Barry Cunniffe (C), Nicholas Dyer (Lib Dem), Lee Sutton (Lab); Caister South: Nicholas Dack (Lab), Robert Peck (C); Claydon: Hannah Gascoigne (C), Matthew Smith (UKIP), Bernard Williamson (Lab).

Norfolk County Council by-election - Lothingland division: Michael Brackenbury (Green), John Cooper (Independent), Barry Stone (C), Trevor Wainwright (Lab).

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter