Harry Potter Book Night 2017: Enchanting events taking place in Norfolk

Harry Potter books. Photo: Sonya Brown

Harry Potter books. Photo: Sonya Brown - Credit: Archant

While aspiring witches and wizards may not need a specific date or time to celebrate their love for J.K. Rowling's magical series, Thursday, February 2 marks a special occasion for fans of Harry, Ron and Hermione.

Sebastian Conway (7) dressed as Harry Potter at a party to coincide with the launch of the new book

Sebastian Conway (7) dressed as Harry Potter at a party to coincide with the launch of the new book "Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince" in 2005. Picture: James Bass - Credit: Eastern Daily Press � 2005

Thursday night will see Bloomsbury hold their annual Harry Potter Book Night, with a range of events taking place across the country, all centred around the theme of The Professors of Hogwarts.

Those who taught Harry and his friends how to cast spells and brew the perfect potion will be celebrated at each literary event using a kit provided by the publisher, which contains a selection of ideas and activities.

For those wanting to get involved locally, a whole host of enchanting events are scheduled to take place across Norfolk.

Waterstones on Castle Street, Norwich are inviting people to come along between 4pm and 8pm and take part in wizardly crafts and games, including being sorted into a Hogwarts house, discovering your patronus and create your own Hedwig.

The Harry Potter book night event at Gorleston library. Picture: James Bass

The Harry Potter book night event at Gorleston library. Picture: James Bass - Credit: James Bass


You may also want to watch:


Great Yarmouth Library is holding a Hogwarts-themed event in celebration of the Harry Potter Book Night on Thursday February 2, between 4.30pm and 6.30pm.

Organisers say it will be a night of wizarding fun with activities such as potion making and the chance to meet some real owls from Fritton Owl Sanctuary.

Most Read

Similarly, Gaywood Library and Downham Market Library are hosting events that will see children aged five and over dress up in their finest robes and play games. The Downham Market event kicks off at 4pm while Gaywood's begins at 6.30pm, entrance to both costs £3.

Those attending events are encouraged to share photos and ideas on social media using the hashtag #HarryPotterBookNight

Harry Potter Book Night was launched in 2015 and has since seen it trending on Twitter with thousands of fans taking part across the UK.

• Are you doing anything to celebrate Harry Potter Book Night? Let us know in the comments below.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus