Few surprises in Suffolk Coastal election result

Suffolk Coastal remains in Conservative control after a day of few surprises.

Votes were counted for the coastal districts at Suffolk Police headquarters in Martlesham today. The overall voter turnout for the district was up 8pc on 2007 to 49.3pc. The highest turnout was in Yoxford where 61.9pc of those eligable voted. The lowest turnout was in Felixstowe West where just 37.3pc marked ballot papers.

Here are the results in full:

Earl Soham: Robert Snell (C) 738*, Tony Dockerill (L) 243.

Most Read

Hacheston: Graham Peck (C) 483*, Lesley Bensley (L) 191, Andrew Houseley (LD) 166, Rachel Fulcher (Gn) 117.

Grundisburgh: Anthony Fryatt (C) 665*, Eric Middleton (L) 289.

Hollesley with Eyke: Jane Marson (C) 579*, Janet Snell (L) 318.

Felixstowe South: Peter Coleman (C) 694*, Joan Sennington (C) 693*, Richard Reaville (L) 375, Andrew Tink (L) 352, Gerard Hughes (LD) 316, David Miller (LD) 301.

Otley:Peter Bellfield (C) 777*, Peter Stone (L) 241.

Kesgrave West: Deborah McCallum (C) 877*, Robert Grimwood (C) 692*, Anna Hubert-Chibnall (L) 427.

Rendlesham: Terence Eastman (C) 659*, Hugo Martineau-Needham (L) 321.

Peasenhall: Stephen Borroughes (C) 604*, Roger Benstead (L) 331.

Aldeburgh: Marianne Fellowes (C) 833*, Terry-Jill Haworth (C) 766*, Sarah Duerr (Ind) 575, Stephen Day (LD) 455.

Felixstowe North: Michael Deacon (L) 887*, Kimberley Williams (L) 687*, Wayne Dye (C) 572, Michael Titchener (C) 563.

Felixstowe South East: Janet Garfield (C) 892*, Andrew Smith (C) 849*, James Bennett (LD) 639, Cherrie MacGregor (LD) 513, Ruth McGrath (L) 377.

Woodbridge Farlingaye: Diana Ball (LD) 316*, Patricia Mulcahy (C) 245, William White (L) 202.

Sutton: Christine Block (LD) 502*, James Adeane (C), Thomas Bolger (L) 125.

Framlingham: Christopher Hudson (C) 1040*, Colin Walker (C) 900*, John Clough (L) 447, Edward Thompson (Gn) 436, Edna Salmon (L) 355.

Wickham Market: Bryan Hall (LD) 486*, Valerie Pizzey (L) 126, Diane Smith (C) 191.

Woodbridge Kyson: Edward Binns (C) 317*, Vanessa Gregory (LD) 274, Roy Burgon (L) 163.

Yoxford: Barry Slater (Ind) 594*, Helen Williams (C) 386.

Felixstowe West: Stuart Bird (C) 590*, Michael Sharman (L) 590*, Margaret Morris (L) 574*, Henry Dangerfield (LD) 547, Stephen Beedle (C) 546, John Mullen (L) 535, Jeremy Moore (C) 503, Michael Ninnmey (LD) 479, Peter Woods (LD) 454.

Woodbridge Seckford: Jason Sayles (C) 477*, Victor Harrup (LD) 298, Susan Bale (L) 162.

Witnesham: Steven Hudson (C) 659*, Anthony Scott (L) 207.

Felixstowe East: Doreen Savage (C) 1150*, Christopher Slemmings (C) 1013*, Gillian Mason(Ind) 570, Harriet Bennett (L) 373, Bernard Price (LD) 310, Heather Mullen (L) 260.

Woodbridge Riverside: Geoffrey Holdcroft (C) 538*, Kathleen Yule (LD) 306, Andrew Corston (L) 152.

Rushmere St Andrew: Robert Whiting (C) 1422*, John Withey (C) 1405*, Mark Newton (C) 1393*, Stanley Robinson (L) 728.

Walberswick and Wenhaston: Michael Gower (C) 595*, Anne Thomas (L) 319.

Nacton: Veronica Falconer (C) 1113*, Patricia O'Brien (C) 1103*, Andrew Leeder (L) 377, Betsy Reid (Gn) 357, Peter Waller (L) 322.

Kesgrave East: Sally Ogden (C) 1405*, Angela Neale (C) 1390*, John Klaschka (C) 1343*, David Isaacs (L) 704, Barbara Dockerill (L) 606, Derrick Fairbrother (LD) 561, James Howard (Gn) 542, Manooch Azmoodeh (LD) 443.

Melton and Ufford: Michael Bond (C) 1110*, James Bidwell (C) 1101*, Jeremy Bale (L) 470, Cerys Shepherd (L) 452, John Ball (LD) 405.

Martlsham: John Kelso (LD) 1110*, Christopher Blundell (C) 960*, Paul Callaghan (C) 484, Leo Brome (Ind) 340, Adam Leeder (L) 264, Howard Needham (L) 225, David Keeble (Gn) 193, John Forbes (Gn) 181.

Trimleys with Kirton: Susan Harvey (C) 1053*, Graham Harding (C) 981*, Richard Kerry (C) 948, Sherrie Green (Ind) 762, Justine Good (L) 568, Neville Mayes (L) 560, Andrew Marfleet ( LD) 379, Ian Burnett (LD) 308.

Leiston: Anthony Cooper (C Ind) 841*, Andrew Nunn (C) 805*, Trevor Hawkins (C) 745, Terence Hodgson (L) 651, Nigel Parker (C) 581, Brian Cox (L) 529, Stephen Smedley (L) 422, Anna Clark (Gn) 351.

Saxmundham: Peter Batho (C) 843*, Marian Andrews (LD) 596*, Joseph Cassels (Gn) 347, Richard Smith (C) 505, Donald Tricker (Ind) 425, Keith Dickerson (LD) 335.

Orford and Tunstall: Raymond Herring (C)*.

Snape: Phillip Dunnett (C)*.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter