Wildlife trust welcomes designation of 41 marine conservation zones

PUBLISHED: 19:19 31 May 2019 | UPDATED: 19:19 31 May 2019

Norfolk Wildlife Trust Logo

Norfolk Wildlife Trust Logo


The Norfolk Wildlife Trust has welcomed Government plans to designate 41 new Marine Conservation Zones (MCZs).

The trust said the move will help protect the seas around the UK's shores and comes after 50 MCZs were announced in 2013 and 2016.

Norfolk has its own MCZ, the Cromer Chalk Shoal Beds, designated in 2016.

You may also want to watch:

Head of people and wildlife at Norfolk Wildlife Trust, David North said: "We welcome this announcement of further MCZ designations including four new sites in the North Sea."

The 41 new MCZs include cold water corals, forests of sea fans, rocky canyons and sandbanks.

The four new sites within the North Sea region are: Berwick to St Marys, Holderness Offshore, Markham's Triangle and Orford Inshore.

The wildlife trust said: "All will contribute towards a network of areas which is urgently needed to ensure a healthy future for our seas."

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Eastern Daily Press. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Most Read

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Most Read

Latest from the Eastern Daily Press