Conservatives hold Waveney seat in Halesworth by-election

PUBLISHED: 10:04 23 May 2014 | UPDATED: 10:12 23 May 2014

Polling Station

Polling Station


The Conservatives have retained control of Waveney District Council’s Halesworth seat following a by-election.

Letitia Smith was elected as the new district councillor for Halesworth following yesterday’s election, replacing Patricia Flegg who retired earlier this year.

She won the election with 726 votes.

Labour candidate Tobias Walton came in second with 535 votes, followed by Green Party candidate Jennifer Berry who received 269 votes and Jack Tyler who received 213 votes.

The result has not changed the balance of power at Waveney with the Conservative party retaining overall control with 24 seats. Labour has 22 district councillors while the Green and Independent parties hold one seat each.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Eastern Daily Press

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists