Norwich cyclist Emma Pooley gets a chance to end Olympic pain

Tuesday, September 4, 2012
12:47 PM

Norwich cyclist Emma Pooley has closed in on returning to Great Britain action with the World Road Championships later this month.

To send a link to this page to a friend, you must be logged in.

The 2010 world time-trial champion is one of 12 names put forward for the GB road race squad in Limburg, Netherlands, with seven set to start the race.

Pooley also makes the four-strong time trial shortlist with two set to race.

Pooley was instrumental in helping Team GB colleague Lizzie Armitstead to London Olympics silver at the end of July, but was left in tears after her hopes of emulating her time trial silver in Beijing ended on the flat around Hampton Court with a sixth place finish.

For the men, Tour de France winner Bradley Wiggins is set to play a team – while double Olympic track champion Laura Trott is a surprise inclusion in the women’s squad.

The World Championships take place from September 15 to 23, with Wiggins and 23-time Tour stage winner Mark Cavendish, the defending road race champion, among the 14-man squad for the road race, with nine to start.

Laura Trott is named alongside sister Emma, Pooley and Armitstead.

Cavendish has been wearing the world champion’s rainbow jersey since winning in Copenhagen last September, but it is anticipated he will relinquish his crown on an undulating course.

Wendy Houvenaghel won the women’s national title and is one of four riders named for the two time-trial spots, despite leaving the Olympics in disgust after missing out on a place – and a medal – in the team pursuit.

• GB Elite men (road race, nine start): Adam Blythe, Mark Cavendish, Steve Cummings, Alex Dowsett, Andy Fenn, Chris Froome, Peter Kennaugh, Jeremy Hunt, Luke Rowe, Ian Stannard, Ben Swift, Jon Tiernan-Locke, Geraint Thomas, Bradley Wiggins; (time-trial, two start): Dowsett, Froome, Thomas. Women (road race, seven start): Lizzie Armitstead, Hannah Barnes, Katie Colclough, Nicole Cooke, Catherine Hare, Nikki Harris, Dani King, Sharon Laws, Emma Pooley, Joanna Rowsell, Emma Trott, Laura Trott; (time-trial, two start): Wendy Houvenaghel, Sharon Laws, Emma Pooley, Julia Shaw.