Local bragging rights are on the line as Norfolk travel across the border to take on Suffolk tomorrow.

Swardeston’s attempts to rekindle a title chase continue with a Norfolk derby when they host Norwich tomorrow.

Swaffham captain Jasper Payne has been named player of the month for June in the Cecil Amey Opticians Norfolk Alliance.

As the heatwave continued in Norfolk, and England bowed out of the World Cup to Croatia, it was back to business as usual in the Norfolk Cricket League sponsored by Ashburnham Solicitors.

Downham Town continued their march towards the Norfolk Alliance Premier Division title with a six-wicket victory at home to Old Buckenham.

Steve Gray smashed a century as Swardeston jumped into second spot in the East Anglian Premier League table.

Second place is within reach for in-form Great Witchingham, if they can avoid a banana skin at Bury St Edmunds.

While World Cup fever gripped the nation, most of Norfolk’s cricketers made arrangements to watch the match and play either before or around the quarter-final.

World Cup fever took a back seat as cricket fulfilled its league obligations.

Fakenham moved into second spot after an outstanding victory over previously unbeaten leaders Downham Town.

Saxlingham continue to lead the way in the Norfolk League sponsored by Ashburnham Solicitors, as they comfortably beat Narborough.

An innings of 48 would be a decent score for many batsmen in the Norfolk Alliance, or any other league come to that.

Sam Arthurton continued his prolific mid-summer form with a fine century as the Unicorns gave England’s Under-19s a tough workout in Loughborough ahead of their series against South Africa.

Swardeston made up for a big disappointment in one national competition by making impressive progress in another.

Horsford confirmed their place in the semi-finals of the NW Brown Norfolk Twenty20 competition on Tuesday evening when they beat Vauxhall Mallards by six wickets.

The Norfolk Cricket Board has secured a six-figure investment from the England & Wales Cricket Board to revolutionise the opportunities to play cricket across the Norwich area by providing nine new artificial pitches in seven different locations.

Downham Town will take some catching at the top of the Norfolk Alliance Premier Division after seeing off closest rivals North Runcton in a tight game.

It was a day that was just made for batsmen - but that didn’t stop Ben France from turning on the style with the ball to help Vauxhall Mallards to their third successive win.

Norfolk captain Chris Brown admitted he could not have wished for any more after guiding his side to an emphatic victory in their opening Minor Counties Championship match of the season.

Swardeston travel to the home of Norfolk cricket on Saturday looking to get their East Anglian Premier League campaign back on track.

Latest from the EDP


Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Most Read Sport



max temp: 22°C

min temp: 19°C

Show Job Lists