Search

International Space Station visible over Norfolk

PUBLISHED: 06:00 25 September 2018 | UPDATED: 13:08 25 September 2018

The International Space Station on 29th May 2011. Photo: NASA/NSSDCA

The International Space Station on 29th May 2011. Photo: NASA/NSSDCA

NASA/NSSDCA

According to NASA’s Spot The Station website the International Space Station will be appearing over Norfolk until October 5.

The NASA website has provided the dates and times that people in Norfolk can next view the station when it appears on the West horizon to cross over to the East.

The dates and times given are:

Tuesday September 25: 8.02PM, 9.37PM

Wednesday September 26: 7.11PM, 8.46PM

Thursday September 27: 7.54PM, 9.30PM

Friday September 28: 7.05PM, 8.39PM

Saturday September 29: 7.48PM, 9.23PM

Sunday September 30: 7.00PM, 8.32PM

Monday October 1: 7.41PM, 9.16PM

Tuesday October 2: 8.25PM

Wednesday October 3: 7.34PM, 9.09PM

Thursday October 4: 8.18PM

Friday October 5: 7.27PM, 9.02PM

The duration of the space station’s appearance at these times ranges from less than one minute to five minutes.

According to NASA: “The space station looks like an airplane or a very bright star moving across the sky, except it doesn’t have flashing lights or change direction.

“It will also be moving considerably faster than a typical airplane.”

No special equipment is needed to see the station as it is visible to the naked eye.

Will you be looking out of the ISS? Let us know in the comments.

Most Read

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Latest from the EDP

Show Job Lists

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 17°C

min temp: 8°C

Listen to the latest weather forecast