Tories hold Breckland Council seat in Attleborough by-election

PUBLISHED: 10:06 20 July 2012 | UPDATED: 10:06 20 July 2012

Karen Pettitt, the new Breckland Councillors for Queens Ward, Attleborough.

Karen Pettitt, the new Breckland Councillors for Queens Ward, Attleborough.


The Conservatives have successfully defended their seat in the Queens ward of Attleborough after winning a by-election by just 35 votes.

Attleborough Town Councillor and former mayor Karen Pettitt received 489 votes in the Breckland Council election that was held yesterday with Labour candidate John Williams getting 454 votes.

The turnout for the by-election was 16.8pc.

The election was called after Conservative councillor Simon Rogers, who was elected unopposed last year, resigned after moving to Cornwall.

Mrs Pettitt, the new Conservative district councillor, is a trustee of Connaught Hall and a governor of the town’s high school.

The Conservatives will defend two further seats on Breckland Council in by-elections in Mid Forest and Harling and Heathlands on Thursday, July 26.

Conservative Mike Nairn and Labour Alexander Vyse will contest the Mid Forest ward following the resignation of Bernard English due to ill health.

There will be a four-way fight to replace Kay Fisher, who resigned as Harling and Heathlands councillor to avoid a conflict of interest, with Marion Chapman-Allen standing for the Tories, Denis Crawford for the UK Independence Party, Steve Gordon for the Liberal Democrats and Stephen Green for Labour.

Most Read

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Latest from the EDP

Show Job Lists



max temp: 9°C

min temp: 5°C

Listen to the latest weather forecast