Labour and the Greens retain Norwich council seats at City Hall

PUBLISHED: 13:17 20 December 2012

Marion Maxwell, Labour and Co-operative Party city councillor for Crome

Marion Maxwell, Labour and Co-operative Party city councillor for Crome


Labour and the Green Party have retained their seats after today’s by-election count at City Hall.

Voters had the chance to have their say in Norwich’s Crome and Nelson wards following two resignation in recent weeks.

Marion Maxwell secured Crome for Labour while Andrew Boswell, of the Green Party, took Nelson.

Turnout in both wards was higher than Norwich’s 16.3pc turnout for last month’s police and crime commissioner election.

In Crome, the Labour and Co-operative Party’s Mrs Maxwell received 884 votes.

Conservative Eve Collishaw polled 259 votes as the Tories only just held off the UK Independence Party (Ukip) challenge for second.

Ukip’s Glenn Tingle received 232 votes, Judith Ford (Green Party) 73 and Michael Sutton-Croft (Liberal Democrat) 42. There were 1,490 eligible votes cast, four spoilt papers and turnout was 20.5pc.

Crome had 7,289 people registered to vote.

In Nelson, Mr Boswell (Green Party) received 1,121 votes, Layla Dickerson (Labour) 599 votes, Helen Whitworth (Liberal Democrat) 174 and Alexandra Davies (Conservative) 108.

Turnout was 27.8pc, with 2,002 people voting. Nelson has 7,221 registered voters.

Norwich City Council now has 21 Labour councillors, 15 Green Party and three Lib Dems.

For reaction from today’s count, see tomorrow’s papers.

Most Read

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Latest from the EDP

Show Job Lists

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 20°C

min temp: 10°C

Listen to the latest weather forecast