Photo Gallery: South Norfolk MP Richard Bacon reopens The Waveney Inn
15:51 17 June 2014
Â© Archant 2014
A Norfolk MP officially opened a revamped pub on the southern Broads after a six-figure refurbishment.
The Waveney Inn, which is part of the Waveney River Centre, now has an air conditioned bar and restaurant, a deck overlooking Carlton Marshes nature reserve, Southwold’s Adnams Ales and a menu of locally-sourced, home-cooked food.
The river centre’s director James Knight hailed the revamp as “the final piece in the jigsaw” for the site at Burgh St Peter.
Mr Knight and his wife Ruth took over the centre 11 years ago and through the investment of co-directors Len and Hazel Funnell – Ruth’s parents – have transformed and developed it.
The pub’s managers, Neale Moss and Lynne Skillander have created a new menu with the emphasis on fresh local produce.
South Norfolk MP Richard Bacon said: “It’s thrilling to see the Waveney Inn’s refurbishment which is going to transform this venue and turn it into a real destination.
“It really is going to change things locally. It’s a tremendous testament to the hard work and vision of James, Ruth and their team.”
The Waveney Inn was known as Marsh House in 1879, and early in the 20th century was a hotel, a wherry trading staithe and a zoo.
From 1904 to 1914, Frank Rice’s Zoological Gardens was a famous local attraction, featuring bears, monkeys and a “sacred white camel” among its menagerie.
In 1907, two brown bears escaped - only to be shot and eaten by local villagers.
• Have you got a story about a revamped pub reopening? Email firstname.lastname@example.org