Lib Dems retain Wroxham seat on Broadland Council following by-election

12:54 21 March 2014

Alex Cassam won the Wroxham Ward by-election

Alex Cassam won the Wroxham Ward by-election


The Liberal Democrats have held a seat on Broadland Council following yesterday’s by-election in Wroxham Ward.

The vote was called after Lib Dem councillor Ben McGilvray resigned as a Wroxham councillor last month after moving away from the district.

Lib Dem candidate Alex Cassam was elected after receiving 482 votes. Conservative Fran Whymark came second with 341 votes, and David Moreland of UKIP received 112 votes. Malcolm Kemp of Labour won 63 votes.

A total of 998 votes were cast, including 310 postal votes, with a turnout of 25pc.

The result does not affect the overall political complexion of the council, which has a Conservative majority.


Most Read

Featured Pages

Most Commented

Latest from the EDP

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 17°C

min temp: 10°C

Listen to the latest weather forecast

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition


Enjoy the EDP
digital edition


Newsletter Sign Up