Paston Sixth Form College stages its awards evening in North Walsham church

PUBLISHED: 09:00 16 September 2013

Principal Kevin Grieve presents an award at  Paston Sixth Form College awards evening

Principal Kevin Grieve presents an award at Paston Sixth Form College awards evening


More than 400 students and their parents packed North Walsham parish church for Paston Sixth Form Centre’s awards evening.

Principal Kevin Grieve told the audience: “Once again students had achieved some outstanding results and North Walsham and the whole North Norfolk community should be very proud of the student performance in 2013”.

He was particularly pleased with a 98pc A level pass rate and a 100pc pass rate on BTEC courses.

The results at A level included an A*-B pass rate of 49pc and an A*-C rate of 73pc.

“It is not surprising that over 250 students are going to University after A level and BTEC courses, with over 20% going on to top Russell Group Universities. All over the country Universities will be receiving some talented people from Norfolk,” added Mr Grieve.

In his address he thanked all the teaching, support staff, students and parents for their hard work over the last two years.

He said students were not only hard working but also very creative in the way they approached their studies, as well as in enrichment activities such as sport, drama, art and their voluntary and charity work.

Guest speaker, ex Paston student Daniel Evans, spoke about the need for creativity in education, including his own subject area of geography and how it helped him with his studies and gap year in Alaska.

Mr Grieve presented awards and certificates to students including 100 Norfolk County Scholars. Teachers who read out nominations and reasons for the awards. Special prizes included the Ivan Palfrey Cup presented by Dave Robertson for the Rotary Club and also the Kristopher Harper prize and the Charlotte Robinson Award.

Award winners

Paston Foundation Prizes: Sophie Williamson, Health and Social Care, Luke Bibby, Science - Biology, Chemistry & Physics, Gabriella George, Science - Biology, Chemistry & Physics, Troy Bennett, Science - Biology, Chemistry & Physics, Audie Warren, Mathematics, John Hewetson, Mathematics, Rebecca Gray, PE/Sport, Jacob Viles, ICT, Rebecca Gray, Psychology, Katherine Palmer, Geography, Emily Cunningham, Sociology, Alec Stokes, Business Studies, Jack Clarke, Law, Isobelle Ford, Drama/Performance, Shahram Saadatm , Photography, Sam Meyer, Media Studies, Ella Letort, English Language/Literature, Sophie Smith, English Literature, George Nobbs, French, Ben Mardell, History

Ivan Palfrey Cup - Beth Cockaday, Kristopher Harper Prize – Daniel Wicks, Charlotte Robinson Award – Luke Bibby, Sportspersons of the Year – Rebecca Gray and Jordan Bulmer

Norfolk County Scholars: Corrie Alabaster-Strahan, Emily Alcock, Ben Applegate, Will Belsten, Troy Bennett, Luke Bibby, Hollie Bilham, Daniel Booth, Connor Braithwaite, Chris Brett, Angus Bridges, Andrew Brierton, Jordan Bulmer, Maya Busby, Rosie Carlton, Grace Clarke, Jack Clarke, Eddie Collyer, Abbey Cook, Adam Cooper, Emily Cunningham, Nicola Cutting, Carl Daniels, Kimberley Davies, Saskia Dibley, Laura Dodds, Kieren Duffin, Ezra Evans, Isobelle Ford, Christina Franklin, Alex Gallop, Gabriella George, Sarah Goodliffe, Danielle Grant, Emily Gray, Rebecca Gray, Joshua Green, Samuel Green, Laura Griffin, Emily Griffiths, Henry Hale, Charlotte Hall, David Halliday, Oliver Hamelijnck, Matthew Harris, Jamie Haystead, John Hewetson, Rebecca Hicks, Samantha Howe, Kieran Isaacson, Lisa Jacobs, Arthur Jarvis, Alex Johnson, Lauren Kemp, Henry Lansdell, Vicky Last, Ella Letort, Catherine Lister, Ben Mardell, Sula Marshall, Remy Martin, Evie Maskrey, Steven McGhee, Emily Merriott, Oliver Mills, Niamh Myhill,Francesca Nelson, Laura Osadciw, Emily Palman, Katherine Palmer, Alex Parkinson, Harry Partner, Ashley Popay, Chelsea Remoroza, Alexandra Robinson, Clara Ross-Benham, Natasha Rowan, Joshua Ryan, Imogen Scoular, Harry Shepherd, Rebekah Slade, Sophie Smith, Kieran Smithdale, Hannah Snelling, Harry Stamatov, Alec Stokes, Pippa Sullivan, Claire Taylor, Harriet Thomas-Bush, Rhea Tubby, Jacob Viles, Tom Walters, Daisy Ward, Audie Warren, Daniel Waters, Jonathan Wicks, Jack Williams, Sophie Williamson, Lexie Witting, Laura Wright

■The Paston Foundation runs a scholarship scheme, introduced in 2006 to mark our 400th birthday bearing the name of school founder, Sir William Paston

The scholarships worth £500, are awarded to gifted and talented students who achieve a minimum of 3A* and 6 A grades at GCSE and who have come to Paston Sixth Form College to study A levels and BTEC courses as a preliminary to going to a top university.

This year’s 42 winners are: Yasmin Atthill, Becky Ali, Marie Andrews, Hannah Butterfield, Melissa Bowling, Sophie Crook, Martha Crass, Sophie Coles, Georgie De La Borda, Christian Green, Beth Gook, Millie Goslyn-Jones, Nicholas Hewetson, Eleanor Hepburn, Callum Hamilton-Emery, Molly Harris, Jenna Hatch, Jasper Haywood, Jenny Hull, Nathan Jones, Ross Knapman, Molly Kerkham, Chloe Lee, Georgina Lester, Benjamin McCarthy, Laurina Mellows, Emily McLaren, Charlie Randall, Elise Page, Emily Rowland, Ellie Rix, Issy Snell, Catherine Setchfield, Anna Szulfer, Andrew Stringer, Jack Southgate, Laura Tuddenham, Harry Twining, Sophie Wilkinson, Sam Webb, Abbie Walters, Alice Wreford.

Most Read

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Latest from the EDP

Show Job Lists



max temp: 14°C

min temp: 12°C

Listen to the latest weather forecast