Aylsham High School’s “outstanding” class of 2012 honoured at awards evening

PUBLISHED: 17:25 03 October 2012 | UPDATED: 09:02 05 October 2012

Some of the Aylsham High School class of 2012 award winners. Back row, from left: Will Smithson, Daniel Rivett,  Warren Collings , Tom Withington.  Front: Charlotte Ward, Bethany Hughes, Elise Mabbutt, Ellie Cleaver, Adelle Copus. Picture SUBMITTED.

Some of the Aylsham High School class of 2012 award winners. Back row, from left: Will Smithson, Daniel Rivett, Warren Collings , Tom Withington. Front: Charlotte Ward, Bethany Hughes, Elise Mabbutt, Ellie Cleaver, Adelle Copus. Picture SUBMITTED.


Aylsham’s “outstanding” class of 2012 left their colleges and jobs to go back to school last week for a celebration.

Students belonging to the 2011-2012 year 11 group returned to Aylsham High School for an evening of congratulations, trophies, speeches, music and reunions.

Head teacher Duncan Spalding listed some of their year’s achievements which included 79pc of students gaining five A*-C grades, including English and maths, 96pc of students achieving five A*-C grades, and 99pc of students achieving five GCSE passes.

In English, 89pc of students had made good progress, with nearly half making outstanding progress, and in maths, 80pc had made good progress with a third making outstanding progress.

Mr Spalding said: “These are outstanding results. A great reason for us to come together to celebrate.”

He added: “You are at the beginning of an exciting and exhilarating new phase of your lives. Make sure you embrace opportunity and do your very best to enjoy the chances and opportunities that come your way.”

The evening included an address by former pupil Georgina Wade, now 21, who graduated this summer with a 2i law degree from UEA and is now considering whether to train as a barrister.

And the audience was also introduced to Jenny Jones, who has just succeeded Sue Platt as chairman of the school governors.

A musical interlude was provided by singer Georgina Kemp, accompanied on guitar by William Mason.

Awards: outstanding attainment performances during the

2011/12 GCSE, vocational and AS courses: business nationals: Joanna Maxwell, Thomas Withington; CoPE (Certificate of Personal Effectiveness): Tanya Amies, Michael Rope; countryside and environment: Laura Childerhouse, Luke Woods; design and technology - resistant materials: Clare Rogowski, Jack Sadler; design and technology - textiles: Peter Baumbach-Phillips, Eve Davies; drama: Fabian Jackson, Joanna Maxwell; English language and literature: Katharine Butchers, Thomas Howes-Ward; fine art: Jasmine Blake, Ross Child; French: Katharine Butchers, Jacob Kelly; geography: Chloe Ward, Luke Whiting; German: Daniel Rivett, Alexandra Wiseman; graphic communication: Charlotte Ward, Thomas Withington: Hhair and bBeauty: Elizabeth Sadler-Barker Payne; history: Alice Gaudet, Thomas Howes-Ward; hospitality and catering: Elise Mabbutt, Michael Rope; ICT: Mary-Lou Clark, Bradley McKeown; ICT - AS level: Luke Whiting; mathematics: Eve Davies, Luke Whiting; music: Emma Thompson, Luke Whiting; physical education: Jeremiah Dasaolu, Katie Witting; religious education: Katharine Butchers, Thomas Withington; science: Jacob Kelly, Ellen Lincoln; Spanish: Alice Gaudet, Jacob Kelly; Statistics: Alice Gaudet, Jacob Kelly; vocational courses (including diplomas): Maisie Buchanan, Bethany Hughes; work skills: Thomas Potter, Luke Woods.

Special awards: achievement at work experience: Shannon Parfitt; work-related learning: Warren Collings; outstanding vocational result 2012: Harriet Cox and Bethany Hughes: winners of the Diana Anti-Bullying Award 2012 in recognition of young people who have made a real difference to tackling bullying in their school and communities: Friendly Face captains: Georgi Connolly, Zachary Highton and co-ordinators: Emma Atkin, Fabian Jackson, Jamie Barnes, Edward Jones, Jasmine Blake, Jacob Kelly, Stefan Bryant, Annabel Lamb, Daisy Clarke, Elise Mabbutt Ellie Cleaver, Eleanor Richards, Oliver Cockaday, Kara Taylor, Peter Engelsen, Charlotte Ward, Alice Gaudet, Chloe Ward, Lewis Gibbings, Luke Whiting, Shannon Wiseman; outstanding achievement in art: Charlotte Ward; outstanding contribution in hospitality and catering: Elise Mabbutt; Rotary District 1080 Young Chef Cup: Elise Mabbutt; Aylsham Twinning, Ivan Lutkin Memorial Shield 2012 for achievement in French: Jacob Kelly; outstanding work in performing arts: Fabian Jackson; Kingswood Cup for Achievement Against the Odds: Thomas Withington; The Meechan Special Award: James Rudd; outstanding contribution to the community work of the school: Ellie Cleaver and Daniel Rivett; The David Harrhy Memorial Shield for Endeavour in ICT: Adelle Copus; special award for enterprise: Daniel Rivett; special award for excellence in science: Elise Mabbutt; outstanding effort and progress: Jennifer Haggith, Kara Taylor,

Will Smithson, Charlotte Ward, Luke Whiting; outstanding GCSE/AS (GCE) results 2012: Katharine Butchers, Zachary Highton; Alice Gaudet; Jacob Kelly;

Charlotte Ward; Luke Whiting.

Most Read

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Latest from the EDP

Show Job Lists



max temp: 6°C

min temp: 5°C

Listen to the latest weather forecast