Concert will celebrate the work of Norfolk composers

PUBLISHED: 17:19 21 February 2014 | UPDATED: 10:53 23 February 2014

Norfolk Composers Group

Norfolk Composers Group


A concert celebrating music created by Norfolk composers is taking place in Norwich next month.

The Norfolk Composers Group performance comes soon after celebrated composer, pianist and teacher Michael Finnissy has agreed to be president of the organisation.

Martyn Craft, from the group, said they were delighted to have the support of Professor Finnissy who he described as a “genuinely great and original force in music.”

Professor Finnissy - who lives in north Norfolk and whose catalogue of over 240 works includes operas, orchestral works and pieces for voice, solo instrument and ensemble - will be performing at the Norfolk Composers Group concert on Sunday, March 2 which is in aid of the Benjamin Foundation.

The audience will be able to enjoy hearing Professor Finnissy’s piano pieces - Beethoven’s Robin Adair, Innocent Ingénue Baby (from Gershwin Arrangements) and Kemp’s Morris.

Professor Finnissy created the London School of Contemporary Dance music department and has taught and been musician in residence at many other music institutions. He was the first British president of the International Society of Contemporary Music and appointed an honorary life member in 1998.

He said: “As clearly indicated by the Internet and YouTube, loads and loads of people care passionately about new ‘classical’ music, by living composers, a kind of thriving underground culture in a world dominated by celebrity pop.

“I was honoured at being invited to be president of the Norfolk Composers Group, and to take part in helping them to promote something different in our region.”

Other compositions on the March 2 concert programme have been written by Tim Ambler, Martyn Craft, Pat Hanchet, Kenneth Ian Hÿtch, Andrew Lowe Watson, David Morgan and Malcolm Robertson.

The music will be performed by soprano Meg Starling, Anna Hopkins on flute, and Elizabeth Marjoram and Pat Hanchet on violin.

Michael Finnissy, Kenneth Ian Hÿtch, Andrew Lowe Watson, David Morgan and Malcolm Robertson will be playing the piano.

• The Norfolk Composers’ Group concert - part of the Octagon Concert Series - is on Sunday, March 2 at 3pm at the Octagon Chapel, in Colegate, Norwich.

Admission is by programme £7 (£6 concessions). Tickets are available in advance from St George’s Music Shop, 17-19 St George’s Street, Norwich or by calling 01603 626414, or on the door.

• For more about Norfolk Composers Group visit

Most Read

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Latest from the EDP

Show Job Lists

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 3°C

min temp: 0°C

Listen to the latest weather forecast