Review: Jorgensen Trio at Octagon Chapel, Norwich

PUBLISHED: 16:40 13 May 2014

Event pix 8/5/14

Event pix 8/5/14


This first recital in the Festival’s popular Royal Academy of Music series was given by the Jorgensen Trio.

It takes its name from its pianist, Olga Jorgensen. The violinist is Antonia Kesel and Cecilia Bignall is the cellist.

The programme was made up of two works. The first, composed in 1985 for the centenary of Alban Berg’s birth, was Alfred Schnittke’s Piano Trio.

A substantial and difficult work of considerable uncompromising emotional force in its melancholy, it made its impact by consistently capturing attention with hints of falling melody only to turn brusquely into more modern styles.

There were abrasive passages, but harshness made the gentler moments all the more touching. The four movements of Ravel’s Piano Trio in A minor made rather less demand on the players and listeners, and allowed the cello’s attractive tone to be heard clearly.

Most Read

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Latest from the EDP

Show Job Lists



max temp: 7°C

min temp: 1°C

Listen to the latest weather forecast